Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index





Links
Search


Most Recent Reviews
Gloucester House Restaurant

I just want to mention I'm all new to blogs and absolutely liked you're web site. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with amazing articles and reviews. Thank you for sharing with us your blog.

Posted by: click at September 19, 2014 12:05 PM


Friendly's Restaurant

I'm so dissapointed at the new Friendly's renovation. We had such a cute, cozy, and welcoming restaurant, and now it is ruined. Who ever thought that black red and white would be a good design for a place that wants to attract children for icecream. It reminds me of a joke about Nun's falling down the stairs. The feel is industrial, and hurry up and finish so we can process somebody else. It does not feel like a place that wants to make your celebration memories. So sad, My kids, parents and myself had so many happy memories at out old Friendly's. I feel sad for the generations ahead. Please bring our old Friendly's back!

Posted by: Paige at August 28, 2014 11:23 PM


Gloucester House Restaurant

I just want to say I am just very new to blogs and seriously savored you're page. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with impressive article content. Thanks for sharing with us your website page.

Posted by: you could check here at August 18, 2014 01:40 AM


Gloucester House Restaurant

I just want to say I am all new to blogs and absolutely liked this web site. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You really have great well written articles. Thanks for sharing with us your webpage.

Posted by: page at August 16, 2014 03:59 AM


Grand Caf at the Emerson Inn

I am embarrassed for the owner, the staff, and anyone affiliated with this enterprise. Let me begin by saying I have worked in the service industry as does my brothers and sisters, and some have even taught at the Culinary Institute of America so my review isn't just a tale of a sad family experience and a memory of a family get together ruined, but that of an industry person's perspective on a sloppy, disorganized, unprofessional restaurant. Let me begin my sad, sad story. My family came in to town to see my children dance at their recital in Rockport. All the grandparents were there, and everyone was having a good time. We arrived at 6:45 pm for our 7:00 pm reservation. We were seated behind a party of 6 and took our place in the semi-full dining room. At 7:30 our waitress finally came to get our drink order and pour water. At 7:45 our waitress came to take our meal order. At this point 6 other tables had come in after us, had bread, appetizers, and some entrees (we still had not gotten bread at this point). At 8 pm our drinks came from their "mixologist", they were poorly crafted, and several tasted like their was no alcohol, and some like what could only be described as drinks that had melted several hours earlier. We were also brought singular pieces of what appeared to be store bought bread that was so small it made the bread plate look like a salad plate. It was now 8:25 pm and my fathers salad appeared, but that was it. This was the third time we had seen our waitress in almost an hour and a half, when we asked about our meals she became snarky and commented on the kitchen. We were neither pacified or amused as many other tables had dined completely and even left. My children 5,4, and 10 months were all actually well behaved as everyone was plying them with whatever was on their person. I caught the attention of the restaurant manager who is also apparently the hotel manager, but I may be confused on this point because when I asked for information I was put off by the staff. The gentleman in question also blamed the kitchen, but it was obvious he was not prepared to manage the situation. He said he would check on our meals went into the kitchen and did not return. It was now 8:40 pm and there was no food in sight. At this point the waitresses were avoiding our table, and the manager skulked around to the hostess station and avoided the dining room and our table. My father had had enough at this point and went into the lobby and asked the manager for our bill so we could leave. Rather than try and make some effort to appease us even in some small way he had the nerve to charge us for our drinks and the salad. The cost of the food was comparable to Boston at around $40 a plate (that's an entree not a meal) but I couldn't even tell you what the food is like as we never saw it in an hour and 45 minutes. It doesn't take much to keep diners happy even under the worst conditions. There are some basic things, keep the bread coming, give something complementary, even the basic human experience such as checking on your table. Unfortunately, this was not the case and for a dining room that size the front of the house had more than enough staff, they just were poorly organized, untrained, and apparently do not care what their diners think. I was only slightly amused when other diners in the room were mouthing "I'm so sorry" at us. When a restaurant is "in the weeds" things can spin out of control, and customer service no matter how good the intentions can slip. This was not the case, these people truly don't care, and it is reflected in their work. I saw the kitchen and they weren't that busy. This is all I have to offer. I would avoid this restaurant, there are better in Rockport, which is truly sad as it is a beautiful old hotel. .

Posted by: John from Gloucester at June 30, 2014 01:54 AM


Causeway Restaurant

c

Posted by: MatthewLic at June 17, 2014 03:43 PM


Lograsso's Bistro

While in Rockport on a pleasure trip, someone recommended this restaurant. When I walked in I was asked if we had reservations which I did not. Although indicating they were full, they found a table for my wife and I. In looking over the menu, it seemed a bit pricey. I was also surprised to see that they did not serve alcohol. That was was my first red flag. I observed the locals however bringing in their own bottles of wine and later found out that it was allowed although the menu said there would be an "upcharge" if one BYOB. Hmmm. An upscale Italian restaurant that did not serve beer,wine or mixed drinks? The second thing I noticed on the menu was an "upcharge" ($2.00, I think ) for "more bread". Hmmm. Any "upcharge" for more bread? Then, I noticed in the small print that the restaurant had the right to add a gratuity to the bill. I ordered the Lasagna and my wife ordered the Alaskan Salmon. While waiting for the meal, after about 10 minutes our waitress (the only waitress) asked if we would like some bread while we were waiting for the meal. I'm thinking shouldn't that be automatic? People with reservations were lining up at the door and with only one waitress and the owner running around, it was no wonder as to why they were backing up. Food came and was simply average. Definitely not worth the extreme high prices. Tables that seated more than two had some sort of white construction paper placed on top. It was apparent that they did not have white tablecloths to fit the larger tables. All in all, a disappointing experience.

Posted by: Sam at June 2, 2014 11:17 AM


Halibut Point Restaurant

A feel at home place. Best burgers imaginable. specials are great and dont forget the low tide pie

Posted by: karlos at March 7, 2014 05:36 PM


Giuseppe's Ristorante

Great atmosphere, good food

Posted by: karlos at March 7, 2014 05:33 PM


Alchemy

Food and service is ok but with all the good places in the area they need to step up their game

Posted by: karlos at March 7, 2014 05:32 PM


Horizon Chinese Restaurant


Not sure what happened to this place, some of our boneless ribs were juicy and tender and some were dry, not very consistent, makes me wonder if they were someones leftovers that didn't want a doggy bag. The lomein is extremely oily. This use to be my go to place for Chinese but something has changed. Not sure I will go back.

Posted by: Joe at February 17, 2014 12:00 PM


1640 Hart House

We went to the Hart House Saturday night with another couple at 5:15. Waited over an hour in the tavern to be seated. When the waitress took our order, after finally being seated, I told her we wanted separate checks because I had a gift certificate, she said they don't do separate checks. That made the bill akward to figure out when we got it. My friend & I ordered the mussels as an app. Probably 30% of the shells were empty. I ordered the pan seared salmon. It was the smallest piece I've ever gotten in a restaurant and it was $20. The 99 serves a much bigger piece for $13. The Hart house charges to much for the food for what you get and the drinks are overpriced also.

Posted by: David at December 9, 2013 02:44 PM


Cape Ann Pizza & Subs

got a large cheese steak, 8.50 for a large - it was all bread- hardly any steak - total waste of money.

Posted by: Alex Haley at September 14, 2013 10:14 PM


Rockport House of Pizza


The roast beef was super.....we go here every year when we come on vacation.....

Posted by: dj at July 17, 2013 12:18 AM


Madfish Grille

Living less than a block from Madfish, we always want to give the local spots a try. Maybe we just hit the Madfish on a day they were serving bait fish for food. No changes here. No service. I imagine the bands and late night crowd keep this place going but it is not the putrid food.

Posted by: vinny at June 25, 2013 01:22 PM