Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Greenery Restaurant ~ Rockport

15 Dock Square
Rockport, MA 01966
Tel: (978) 546-9593
Fax: (978) 546-3098

Web Site: www.thegreeneryrestaurant.com


*Review function for The Greenery temporarily closed due to automated spam problem.




Posted by Cape Ann Web at November 12, 2003 10:02 AM


Reviews!

We went there on Sunday, July 1. We have eaten there before after going on a Whale Watch out of Cape Ann numerous times in past summers. The service was HORRIBLE! We sat for over 35 minutes waiting on our meal, the server, Carol, was rude and acted like we were bothering her and the food was cold. I plan on writing a letter to the restaurant because we never experienced such a horrible time. And get rid of the music!!!

Posted by: Sandy Miller at July 2, 2007 09:40 AM

the food is amazing. I live in gloucester and I am willing to go the extra six miles just to go to the greenery. The service is amazingly friendly, speedy, and know how to be proper servers. the kitchen staff seem to be hard working and want to give their customers something pleseant to eat. i would deffinatly keep eating there and the food is good to the point where it is addicting.

Posted by: epod at March 6, 2007 03:39 PM

My favorite restaurant in Rockport!!! From their omelets to prime rib dinner to side salad - divine!

Posted by: Debbie Helbing at May 15, 2006 10:14 AM

The food was great and so was the scenery. I had fabulous squash soup and fried clams. We had great service.


Posted by: Helena & Robbie at March 26, 2006 09:22 AM

They used to have some nice extras (drinks served in carafes, humus free for every table) that made the pricey menu worth it. Now I only go there if I don't want to travel. I'm a local and can't justify the high prices for OK food. Service was always great, though. Truly friendly.

Posted by: MJ at February 9, 2006 07:24 PM


Really nothing special here, except the view. Mediocre service, food was dried out and stale tasting....almost freezer burned.

Posted by: frank at October 13, 2005 01:16 PM


We visit Rockport every year during the summer...we decided to revisit the Greenery for breakfast. We were thrilled with the food and the service...our waitress was extremely attentive
(she had a very different name & she was a young blonde girl) ***** to her alone!
The waffles were really good and the fruit bowl delish!

Posted by: dj at August 6, 2005 09:11 PM


We were looking for a place that offered something different from the common menu. The guide claimed much and we saw little to justify the claims. Food was a little pricey and although I would say the clam chowder was good, but the menu was all too familiar. The presentation was less than stellar. Crab cake sandwich tasted dry and old with lack luster tartar sauce. The feeling was that the persons preparing the meals are in need of inspiration and enthusiasm.

Posted by: Warren at July 30, 2005 06:54 PM

Once I read a review of The Greenery in the "Unofficial Guide to Cape Ann Dining" and it said, "Take your muffin and run." The homemade baked goods are tasty, but food presentation and quality is shaky. Did they hire a chef or a mess cook? It's sad to see "Proudly Serving Starbuck's Coffee" in the window. Sad.

Posted by: Andi at July 17, 2005 01:16 PM


Overall, the food was good, well-prepared and not too over-priced. Service was sketchy and indifferent. Management ditto.
One major caveat - charging market prices is fine if you deliver top-notch product. The caesar salad here is a pale imitation of a the real thing. A fast-food place can get away with this but a bowl of romaine with a few croutons, bland dressing and a sprinkle of pre-grated parmesan is a travesty. No anchovies, garlic, mustard...you get the idea.

Posted by: L. Smith at May 25, 2005 02:16 PM

Recently moved to Lanesville from Arizona. Customer service is not something I have found an abundance of in MA, but The Greenery delivered in all areas. Many have recommended this place and I now know why. Amazing atmosphere, incredible staff and delicious food. Can't wait to dine there again.

Posted by: Laurie Andria at April 15, 2005 09:12 PM

Was in over the summer and all i can say is wow. we went in once for dinner and the food was excellent. I had the crabcakes and my girlfriend the bouillabase. The waitress was good. she had a bunch of tables but we didnt feel neglected at all.

we went in the following night and had pie and espresso in the cafe. the desserts are so good. will definitely be back and i recommend this place to everyone!

Posted by: Keith at February 6, 2005 05:56 PM

come to rockport all the time, had breakfast at the greenery, greasy, and we waited for 50 minutes just a bit much. we didnt have anything special, when it came i didnt get my toast and the breakfast was warm. i also noticed their salad bar is gonzo, maybe jumping the gun a little too soon for that liquor??? maybe a little too soon! from what i am hearing, this may not fly. but anyhow, i dont think we will go back real soon for breakfast, anyhow. i saw a sign that they were voted best coffee shop in rockport, i would question this?? maybe next time we come to town, we might try again. but for now i dont think so.

Posted by: JANE at October 24, 2004 09:27 PM

I love Rockport. I visit there once a summer. The past two summers in a row, my boyfirend and I went here for an early dinner. The downstairs was v. busy. However, the hostess could sense we wanted more privacy and she brought us to the less-crowded upstairs dining. Local art work is colorful on the walls, and is accompanied by a forth wall---made of window that reveals a beautiful view of the ocean. Oh, the slad bar and food were good too.

Posted by: Laurie Lusas at October 19, 2004 01:55 PM

I retract my other posting. Yes, my credit card reflected a $48 cost for a $40 gift certificate, but it was an extra fee imposed by VISA and NOT the Greenery. Someone from the Greenery called and let me know that VISA often did this, but that the actual, final posting to my credit card would only be $40. Very cordial and caring staff.

Posted by: george eastman at October 15, 2004 09:12 AM

I ordered a gift certificate over the phone. There was an eight dollar handling/postage fee. That represented twenty percent of the certificate's face value. Usually restaurants are delighted that someone wants to honor someone else with a gift certificate.

Posted by: gceastman at October 13, 2004 08:03 PM


Have going to the Greenery for years..Always have found it to be the Best..imaginative menu,well prepared food, excellent service, great view in the dining room. I often recommend it to others and have always had great feedback.

Posted by: patricia rowe at October 1, 2004 12:17 PM

Lousy Service! - Went in for breakfast with my wife. She ordered a bagel w/cream cheese and I ordered a regular breakfast. 35 minutes later it was served! This, after two parties who arrived after us were served first. And the place was not incredibly busy. Food was just fair. My advice is to stay away.

Posted by: Paul A. at June 1, 2004 09:15 PM


This salad bar is incredible. I could live off of it. It is a bit pricey, but worth it. Their quesadillas are also delicious. The view is breathtaking from any table out back. Their desserts look amazing, and they serve bread and hummus before every meal.

Posted by: Heather at November 13, 2003 11:25 PM