Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Portside Chowder House ~ Rockport

7 Tuna Wharf
Rockport, MA 01966
Tel: (978) 546-7045




Posted by Cape Ann Web at November 12, 2003 10:02 AM


Reviews!

swauxjma drqjeiwn http://yoficwjs.com ijfkgoqv hznlrzze [URL=http://gduabjud.com]orlpiovu[/URL]

Posted by: fqrxmzjy at October 23, 2007 11:44 AM


Larry sold quality for quantity. For shame. The Portside Chowder House might as well be the Hannah Jumper these days. Who needs repeat business, anyway?

Posted by: PF at October 23, 2007 08:37 AM

Excellent chowder, although rolls would be a good addition.

Posted by: Vick at September 18, 2007 04:22 PM


I went there in mid Oct after Columbus day
and was told you had to spent a minimum of $10.00.
I was taken back for all I wanted was a bowl of chowder and coffee. It was better years ago in the shoebox place. Go bigger and they lost my
money.

Posted by: ethel at May 26, 2007 07:30 PM


small portions and very bad service. i would not send an enemy to this place. view is amazing but not worth spending an arm and a leg to be hungry.

Posted by: Dan at September 9, 2006 02:03 PM

Good food, cozy restaurant, in a friendly atmosphere. Love the large specialty salads and the Fish and Chips :)

Posted by: Samantha G. at September 5, 2006 05:13 PM

I'm a regular at the Chowder House and I love it. The food, the view, and the helpful waitstaff.

Posted by: Katie at September 5, 2006 05:11 PM

In reading some of the reviews, I find a few of them rather immature and not to be taken seriously.A friend and I visited recently and had the lobster ravioli along with a lovely glass of chardonnay--a beautiful place and gorgeous view. The owner hasn't been around for so long for nothing.As a person also in the service industry, I can tell you good help is very hard to find and the work ethic of most young people is apalling. This owner has had some of the same waitstaff for over 6 years.I wish him continued success!

Posted by: Lisa Marie L. at August 29, 2006 12:49 PM

It pains me to write this because this was one of my favorite restaurants. I went for lunch recently and had a horrible experience. The sodas had no syrup so they tasted like soda water, the food wasn't cooked right, etc... To top it off the waitress was extremely rude. She had the audacity to tell me I was wrong, the chicken was cooked to perfection and then rolled her eyes at me. What happened to the customer is always right? Even if you don't believe they are, you don't resort to such a childish attitude especially when you are in your 40s.

Posted by: Eliza at August 27, 2006 12:14 AM

if you done like the food at the chowder house as my man man lee stee put it "forget you" from cooneyy!!

Posted by: cooney at June 6, 2006 10:50 PM

I am a proffessianal chowder tester from new england. I had some chowder from the protside chowder house and it was delicious to say the least. the owner should enter some chowder events. i promise a victory!!!!!!!!!!!!great food nice envirement.

Posted by: Chowder tester at June 3, 2006 01:04 PM

Selin!! We were at the table next to you and without question you disturbed and ruined our meal with your rudeness. You ordered the wrong wine and blamed the waitress for your inproper selection. The worst of all we watched as you shoved the waitress because she refused to allow you to go throught other customers charge slips. The only mistake she made was to refuse service to someone that came in with an attitude from the start. I seriously question sites that allow anyone to post their comments that can come from people who might have personal issues. We enjoy this restaurant and will contue to recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasant enviornment to relax, providing you are not unfortunate to be seated next to customers such as Selin!

Posted by: marcia at March 1, 2006 08:02 AM

My boyfriend and I went to the restaurant for lunch. I have never had such a bad service in my life. The waitress first brought the wrong wine and charged us for that. Then, although the bill included the 18% gratuity, she charged our credit cards for $10 more. When we asked for the difference she was not able to explain. I asked her to let us decide for the gratuity, she swore to us (literally with the F-word) and told us to "get the F.. out of here because we were pissing her off". I have never had a worse restaurant experience in my whole life. HIGHLY UNRECOMMENDED!! BEWARE!!

Posted by: Selin at February 26, 2006 07:38 PM

Loved the old place (but the new location lacked the ambiance of the original) Needless to say we were pleasantly surprised when we recently visited Rockport and stopped by for lunch and saw they had renovated and remarkably the "updates" definately reflect the quantness of the original Chowder House. Very cozy and warm. The waitstaff, some we recognized from at least 8 years ago, was friendly and attentive. Very family friendly. We had the chicken caesar salad and pacific wild salmon w/ field greens, dried cranberries, goat cheese and walnuts drizzled with fat free balsamic dressing and both were terrific. Great afternoon, especially now being able to enjoy a beer and glass of wine with our food completed the experience for me and my wife. We will definately go back! To the owners, thanks for bringing back to old charm!

Posted by: Malaya at February 10, 2006 10:33 PM

the ultimate in swill food & unhappy waitstaff.the only thing they have going for them is the view..

Posted by: george at December 12, 2005 10:29 AM


lee stee says the food rules and i dissagree with that nate dude and i think he has no tast wat so ever

Posted by: lee at December 1, 2005 12:31 PM


the cheeze fries are mouth wattering

Posted by: lee at December 1, 2005 12:26 PM


i think the food is exquiset and i recomend it to everyone. and the waitresses are butifull and extreamlly nice and if you dont like the food then forget you

from
a pleased costomer
lee

Posted by: lee stevenson at December 1, 2005 12:24 PM


i think the food is exquiset and i recomend it to everyone and the waitresses are butifull and extreamlly nice and if you dont like the food then forget you

from
a pleased costomer
lee

Posted by: lee stevenson at December 1, 2005 12:23 PM


I recently dined outside, on the upper level of the Chowder House, I found that the food was tasty, the service was great and the view was spectacular. I ordered a salmon salad, it was great though the salmon could have been larger. My husband ordered a fish sandwich and he loved it. I would definately recommend eating here.

Posted by: Ann at August 20, 2005 10:09 PM


For a place with the name Chowder in it the chowder was not that great. Buffalo strip appitizer was nothing more than you frozen chicken strips with sauce on them. Boring! Have had better!

Posted by: Shannon at August 15, 2005 04:21 PM

Perhaps the work ethic lacks, in available people, for the service industry. I also own a business related to food service and to find, let alone keep, even marginal people is a major problem. Maybe service is a reflection on our own system that seems to have failed instilling pride of effort. "take the money and run". Poor service begets poor tips, this is the only way a customer can retaliate, but to nail a restaurant for the labor problem in this area is unjust. I find the owners here work endless hours to improve the food, decor, and their staff as much as possible.

Posted by: ralph at June 18, 2005 03:39 PM


I agree 100% with Nate! I know the exact waitress he is talking about, and let me tell you something, if she was more interested in the customers and less interested in her personal life, she would get more money! The service here is probably the worst I've had since the Gloucster House!!!! The food and the views are nice, but they dont make up for bad employees. I am just surprised that the owner allows her to continue working there. I PROMISE you, if he doesn't do something about the staff, the customers will do something about his place by not coming in anymore!!!!!!!! Maybe he is thinking about retirement and could care less about his business...if so ...enjoy your early retirement!!!!!

Posted by: Tony at May 26, 2005 12:53 PM

I had the same experience as Nate, though years ago....could the same waitress still be there?

Posted by: j at April 26, 2005 12:35 PM

My girlfriend and I went there, ate fried clams, coco shrimp, and sweet italian sausage sandwich. Within three hours, and having had nothing else to eat, we were violently ill, all the way back to NYC, and through half the night. Very disappointing experience, to say the least. The last and only time I ever got sick off restaurant food was from a road side Wendy's, and the next week, the place was shut down by the city. Since one cannot rate in tnhe negative.....I give them one star.

Posted by: schuyler lee at April 20, 2005 02:58 PM

My girlfriend and I went there, ate fried clams, coco shrimp, and sweet italian sausage sandwich. Within three hours, and having had nothing else to eat, we were violently ill, all the way back to NYC, and through half the night. Very disappointing experience, to say the least. The last and only time I ever got sick off restaurant food was from a road side Wendy's, and the next week, the place was shut down by the city. Since one cannot rate in tnhe negative.....I give them one star.

Posted by: schuyler lee at April 20, 2005 02:58 PM

I found Nate's comment surprising and insulting. The Portside Chowder House is my favorite restaurant, I love their chowder and their salads! My service has always been excellent. If I were a waitress who just recieved a ten percent tip, I too would be insulted and hand it back. I assume he does this often since he wrote, "I usually (he mispelled it) leave a 15% tip." It is customary at any restaurant to leave at LEAST 15%, you should leave 18 to 20%. Disregard his comment, the Chowder House is the place to go if your looking for a cozy restaurant with great food and service.

From,

A pleased customer, Dennis

Posted by: Dennis at April 14, 2005 06:40 PM


The food is decent but the service is not the best. I went there along with a friend for lunch. The food was good, but I barely saw my waitress and she took a long time to fullfill any requests I had. At the end of the meal I left a 10% tip, when I usualy leave 15%. The waitress followed me out of the restraunt and tried to hand me back my money saying "here you probably need this more than I do" I was extremely offended and shall never dine here again. I own a vacation house near this location, but I will be sure never to dine here again.

Posted by: Nate at April 11, 2005 02:39 PM


Pleasant lunch spot, especially in the freezing winter. Incredible harbor view, warm casual interior. Chowder was very good, service acceptable. Only two bathrooms, one in need of sprucing up. That created a bottleneck at the entrance. I would go back, but not if the wait was a long one.

Posted by: Nancy from NJ at February 22, 2005 01:17 PM

I have been here several times over the years and found the dining experience always enjoyable. The owners are always improving the old building's appearace to create the warm enviornment the "old site" presented. This place has beautifull views of the harbor and ocean. The fireplace and decor enhance the always fresh servings. Anybody who doesn't enjoy this restaurant must have an attitude to begin with.

Posted by: Mary at February 13, 2005 02:56 PM


Best chowder around! I love the food, great service, cozy atmosphere (they even have a pellet stove) and excellent view. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Posted by: Crystal at December 9, 2004 03:17 PM

Teh best clam chowder around. Great on a cold autumn day,

Posted by: Vicks at October 23, 2004 06:23 PM

We loved this place at it's original out of the way, hole in wall location...we went to the bigger location when it opened a few years ago...food was fresh but the attitude stunk...haven't gone back since.

Posted by: me at September 21, 2004 04:59 PM

Lunch was sword fish. It was supposed to include a baked potato Food arrved with French Flies, No baked potato. Restaurant was out of Baked potatoe. I would not have ordered this entree if I knew it did not include baked potato. I was never told restaurant was out of baked potato until entree arrived with French Fries. I would have ordered a sandwich instead. No apology.

Insulted me when I questioned the substitution. Would not give a credit until I imsisted. Took over ten minutes to get corrected bill. Then I was insulted again as I paid biil..
Food was adequent.

Posted by: kal radio at July 26, 2004 12:46 AM

The corn chowder is the best! The atmosphere is cozy and right on the water. The waitstaff is extrememly friendly.

Posted by: Kylie at June 12, 2004 10:31 PM

I love this place. If you are looking for a cozy restaurant with casual eating, and great food, look no further. During the summer it is packed, but during the winter, you are seated right away. And, afterwards, you can walk Bearskin Neck. Perfect.

Posted by: chowda at February 10, 2004 12:04 PM

This is my favorite restaurant to go to. The food is great, the waitstaff are very friendly, and the views of the harbor are priceless. The menu has something for everyone!

Posted by: Mark at February 7, 2004 02:47 PM

very inviting, excellent food and service

Posted by: joan at December 26, 2003 12:27 PM

The corn chowder is the best I have ever tasted. The dining room is warm and inviting, with a view of the ocean. In the summer, there is deck seating on the upper level.

Posted by: Heather at November 13, 2003 11:28 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star