Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Lobster Pool Restaurant ~ Rockport

329 Granite Street
Rockport, MA 01966
Tel: (978) 546-7808

Web Site: www.lobsterpoolrestaurant.com




Posted by Cape Ann Web at November 12, 2003 10:01 AM


Reviews!

I just want to mention I'm beginner to blogging and truly liked this web site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You really come with awesome stories. Cheers for sharing with us your web page.

Posted by: Homepage at November 11, 2014 11:08 AM

I just want to say I am just very new to blogging and site-building and truly savored you're page. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You certainly have very good well written articles. Appreciate it for sharing with us your webpage.

Posted by: visit the website at November 11, 2014 09:29 AM

I love dinning here but upon our last visit it was bad. We ordered fried calamari and fried oysters. The oysters were like mush with a green brown liquid oozing from them and the calamari was tough. I hope it is the only time this would happen as I love to eat here

Posted by: Georgeof Gloucester at September 22, 2010 02:53 PM

Visited this restaurant yesterday. Food compares well to that at the many other such restaurants my wife and I have visited throughout New England over the years. Prices were fair, no problem with service -- view was specacular. A very pleasant experience!

Posted by: Hank at August 29, 2010 11:39 AM


We go to the Pool regularly for our fried clam/lobster roll fix. The food is great - very fresh and local, classic clam shack fare. And the service is always friendly. We've been many times and never had a bad experience. Can't beat the view, but that's just a fringe benefit.

Posted by: Veronica at July 20, 2010 06:21 PM

The view phenomenal and the food great.

Posted by: asm14 at July 3, 2009 10:14 PM

zero stars...
Visited from California and cannot believe all the people who eat at this place. Are you so desperate for a good view that you are willing pay a huge price for bad food, bad service, and bad company? No Thanks!

Posted by: Ed at January 14, 2009 02:44 PM

this is NOT like eating at a maine lobster pound...
where a simple lobster dinner is a great deal...
at the pool you're paying plenty for that nostalgia...

hard to eat a lobster with a plastic fork and at these prices...
shouldn't have to....chowder was good...but greasy fries tasted
like they were cooked in lard...

Posted by: murph at November 10, 2008 09:37 PM

Always a great place to take hoards of children visiting with parents.Personally I like the Lobester Pool, no frill's like the old screened in shacks boiling Lobester roadside up in Maine heading out to places like Baileys Island.No pretense here and even the Burgers are good for those of us careful of shellfish.GREAT PLACE TO BRING THE BROOD.And if going near sundown bring the bug spray if you plan to sit outdoors.

Posted by: Marillion at July 29, 2008 08:47 AM

Went in for Father's Day. Clams were no better than soggy rubberbands. Onions rings had no batter on them, they too, were like rubberbands. Teens obviously pressured to get people in and out/away from the counter fast as they can. WAY overpriced. Too bad. It used to be great!

Posted by: WickedEarlyRiser at June 16, 2008 02:03 PM

Same old place, same high prices, same cooked up dead lobsters, same old pay and get out quick attitude. Great for tourist sheep who clap in sync with the moron's who are the clap leaders. Amazing what location does for the less fortunate than those of us who live here.


Posted by: vinnie at May 30, 2008 01:45 PM

Best counter help ever they were so holpful and sweet great place to eat as well

Posted by: Betty at December 16, 2007 03:43 PM

I'm glad local Kathy loves the place, but as a visitor I want to know the real deal, so "complainers," keep posting your truth! (AL, I beg you, next time try having real fried clams. Strips are for those who grew up on HoJo's.)

Posted by: Chris at September 24, 2007 07:08 AM

It should be called the Oil Pool, make that the Rancid Oil Pool. The clams and onions rings were slimey,and while the onion rings were good, if you liek grease, the clams tasted spoiled. A disappointment but somehow a fitting end to an excursion to Halibut State Park where the state employees managing the parking lot did not see fit to warn visitors they'd be wading knee deep in poison ivy as soon as they hit the trails to the waterfront.

Posted by: Louis at July 29, 2007 09:23 PM


You people who are complaining are ridiculous. Haven't you ever heard the saying if you dont have something nice to say, dont say anything at all. Let's try and live by that right now. The majority of people who go to the Lobster Pool are regulars and I'm guessing it's not because the food is HORRIBLE. Get over your bad experience, kids can count change, theyre food is not soggy it is delicious, it's not to rustic..it's homey, and you people are complainers! I LOVE THE LOBSTER POOL

Posted by: Kathy at June 21, 2007 10:42 AM

Unbelievably bad. :(

We were there for breakfast today. We were seated right away and had coffee right away. It went downhill from there when we didn't get cream. We waited so long and watched a couple tables seated after us having their order taken before us- we almost walked out at that point.

We had been there for lunch and that was bad but since this is the closest restaurant to where we live- we thought we'd give it a try for breakfast.

Just everything went wrong:
- Order was taken after a couple of other tables who arrived after us and only after we asked for service (unfortunately with a tone of frustration that silenced the place momentarily)
- Didn't get juice until asking for it a 3rd time
- Observed food being brought out to wrong table but then after a minute of going back to the kitchen came to our table....
- Condiments not brought out with the food and/or coffee even once.
- Long wait between everything
- Over priced like dinner and lunch.
- Had to ask more than once for just about everything but the bill

I don't know how so much could go wrong. The waitress said it was her first time doing breakfast, but I just get so mad when we have to pay for a negative experience.
The food certainly didn't make up for the service.
Suggestion: Maybe the Lobster Pool should just try to focus on a few things they can be good at rather than trying to do seafood, soups, breakfast, desserts, breads...Just try to do a few things good rather than everything mediocre and over-charging.
I would really like to have a nice place locally to take friends and family to and to go to regularly...
Sorry, just a bad experience overall. Oh- except the view.

Posted by: RebeccaofLanesville at October 8, 2006 11:03 AM


Food comes out fast. A little too rustic for the price you pay. I think the food is inconsistent. I was there in 2005 mid-week without the crowds and the lobster roll wasn't bad. Not the best in town, over priced but decent. Then, in July 2006 I took my family there and wished I hadn't. My sister identified the fried clams as fried rubber bands and the fries were cold. The clam chowder was watered down....what a bummer since all get together so infrequently.

Posted by: RebeccaofLanesville at October 1, 2006 09:23 AM

For those of you that think their lobster is worth the price of gold, you are an inlander. You probably clap when the sun sets too. And waiting in lines must also be fun to you.

Posted by: bill at September 10, 2006 05:37 PM


I can't believe anyone could say anything bad about this wonderful little gem on the North Shore. Coming from NYC where over priced is an understatement, the Pool was priced fairly and the food was fresh and A++. I'll be back.

Posted by: Tom at September 2, 2006 08:56 AM

Posted by: sahel at March 7, 2006 07:24 AM


We had a late lunch there on Oct. 6, 2005 and the food and counter folks (Maria) were great!! My wife, Emma had haddock and I had the clam chowder and 11/2lb boiled lobster, fries and cole slaw. It was all done to a tee!!! I'm glad I remembered to (BYOB) a couple of cold Bud Lites along to top off the meal!!

Posted by: Larry Viegas at October 14, 2005 07:33 PM

Been a local for 40 years and had never been to the Lobster Pool, until recently....now I know why....stopped in to try the fried clams which were overpriced, rubbery and bitter, they left an awful aftertaste. Not good. Go elsewhere...anywhere.

Posted by: frank at October 13, 2005 01:23 PM


What people see in this outhouse is beyond me. It can only be view and the sunset. The zombies who clap when the sun drops below the horizon, must add to it. Overpriced is an understatement. And the lobster rolls...what happens to those that die in their tank...DUH!

Location, Location, Location beats out quality and service here.

Posted by: vinnie at September 13, 2005 10:45 PM

the food is unforgetable those cooks really no what they are doing the atmosphere was great all of the employes were nice and helpful and all of the lobsters are cooked fresh and i found out the lobsters are bought from local lobstermen to help keep the community ailve if u havent been there u have to try it i highly reccomend it you wont regret it

Posted by: steve at March 28, 2005 08:11 PM


We love the pool and always bring out of towners there. Yes, there's a big line at prime time but who cares when you take in the views over your BYOB wine or beer. The best steamers and fried clams, homemade desserts, good chowder and other seafood. We have never had a bad meal here. A real traditional lobster in the rough joinit staffed by local kids who work hard and seem to return year after year. Long live the lobster pool! (They should redo the bathrooms though)

Posted by: JL at December 26, 2004 11:14 AM

Great boiled lobster and views. A roll and butter would be nice though, and the bathroom outside needs to be updated.
Steamers excellent too....

Posted by: Vicks at October 23, 2004 06:20 PM


Wow! Best and biggest haddock plate I've had in years. Great laid-back atmosphere. Owner gave us a couple of chilled mugs for our beer. Since we came mid afternoon he had time to chat about local history and even showed us his personal pictures from the "Perfect Storm". His son offered to take our two kids out to the point to see some lobster pots being pulled onto boats. Great time, food and view. Definately recommend.

Posted by: Joseph L at June 17, 2004 01:43 PM

I have visited the Lobster Pool regularily over the past seven years and find that most every aspect of the dining experience has and continues to exceed my expectations. Having grown up on Cape Ann eating fresh lobsters ever since I can remember, the Lobster Pool is the only restaurant that I will order a lobster in when dining out. The chowda is always consistently excellent and unlike that over-hyped eatery in Essex, the lobsters are cooked to order and come out steaming hot. The portions are generous and the lightly breaded fried seafood is delicate and among the best I have had. Also, under the current owner, the menu has been expanded greatly with desert and other items made fresh daily and the facility is very well maintained and clean. Last, but certainly not least, the setting and picturesque ocean and sunset views are unsurpassed on Cape Ann and beyond.

Posted by: Tristan's Dad at June 6, 2004 02:56 PM

We are friends with two other families that make a yearly trip to the Gloucester/ Rockport area. For the past 5 or six years we have tried several restaurants. This year we visited the Lobster Pool and have agreed that from now on it will be part of our yearly trip. Its a great place for families. The atmosphere is casual, the sunsets are beautiful and the food is delicious. Because we were a large group we had the chance to try several dishes. I had the lobster roll which came with more lobster meat than the roll could hold. It was fresh lobster meat, sauted with some butter and served on a roll, it was perfect and just the type of thing you go to Rockport to get. Our friends had the boiled lobster which came out piping hot. Our table split a basket of fried clam strips and fried scallops. Fried food is great when its done right like they do it at the Lobster pool. The kitchen staff apparently knows what they are doing because it was a busy Saturday night when we went and everything was fast and hot. Of course the kids had to have dessert. We found out that all the desserts at the Lobster pool are made fresh daily. You gotta have the blueberry pie ! We are going back every year, we loved it.

Posted by: AL at June 3, 2004 10:20 PM

Note from Admin: We will leave this comment up for now, but have removed it from the front page. Please - restaurant reviews should relate a personal dining experience.


Currently I am working my thrid season at the Lobster Pool and enjoying it very much. I am not a child I am a 21 year old college student majoring in communications with a concentration in advertising and a minor in french and educational studies and I know how count change. Second of all my boss is not a she it is a he and he has been the owner of this restaurant for 7 years. I am not here because I need this job, as I have two others but I enjoy the company of the many tourists and locals as well as my fellow employees who are very happy to be at The Lobster Pool. My best friend is also working here with me and has been here for six years. And as far as the food goes it is the best New England experience (coming from a girl from Canada), needless to say that most have the cooks have been here over 20 years and don't make soggy food.

Posted by: Kate at June 2, 2004 06:03 PM

Soggy food. Boss screaming at kids working there (what's her problem?). Filthy bathrooms. Over priced mediocre food. Kids at the register who can't count change. What's the matter with this place? With the volume of people going in there because of the sunsets, you'd think they'd have enough of a profit margin to get adults to work there.

Edited by Admin - just a little too much detail! :)

Posted by: Debbie at June 1, 2004 05:02 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star