Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Clam Box of Ipswich ~ Out of Town

246 High St
Ipswich, MA 01938
(978) 356-9707

On the web: www.ipswichma.com/clambox/




Posted by Cape Ann Web at August 28, 2004 08:24 PM


Reviews!

I have been going 2 the clam box since 1952 and I was 5 yrs old in 1953 when my grandfather and parents would take me there every time we visited them in Rockport. I still today go there and I now live in Bangor Me a 3 1/2 drive but it's worth it as they have the best fried clams as well as onion rings I've ever tasted and I have been all over but never have any other place been close except for woodmans where there second to the clam box so if you're in cape Ann go there and you will return 4 sure. I'm going again Monday 6/120/11 and I can't wait!!

Posted by: donald mcgrath at June 17, 2011 04:05 PM

пердуперденция купить

Posted by: accighsat at August 28, 2010 07:16 AM

CAN I ORDER CLAMS FOR HOME??[FRIED CLAMS[ THANKYOU DOTTIE

Posted by: DOTTIE at March 15, 2010 05:30 PM

Ever since my first visit to the Cape Ann area a decade ago I've made it my mission to ferret out the best fried clams. I've tried most of the contenders including The Causeway, Farhnams, Woodmans, Essex Seafood, Amelia etc. and after much gustatory experimentation can state that Ipswich Clam Box reigns supreme. Their "Big Belly" fried clams burst with flavor at first bite. Like anything so hard sought (long lines) and so ethereal in nature - must be eaten on the spot. Go ahead eat them hot in the parking lot - your mouth will thank you.

On a side menu note - I decided I like clams so much that I actually bought a home in the area. Now I can go and get my fix of fried clam bellies whenever I want! Also, Ipswich Clams has wonderful fried scallops too. They almost taste like candy - sweet and crispy.

Posted by: Ken at June 9, 2009 06:31 PM


Best fried seafood anywhere. Remember, this is a small eat in the rough type clam shack. Long lines few tables, just the greatest fried seafood anywhere!

Posted by: Dave North Shore Boy at March 23, 2008 08:23 AM

Yes the food is very good. But that is it you cant even get into the place why dont you make the building bigger it seems you are making the money with all the people

Posted by: aaa at March 21, 2008 08:32 PM


Amazing. The best fried clams ever. Huge portions, reasonable prices. Do yourself a favor and get there.

Posted by: Bill at September 4, 2007 02:39 PM

You want the best fried clams and seafood in the world. You just found it!

Posted by: Jim at August 27, 2007 06:52 PM


The best fried clams anywhere in New England. Point Judith, RI is second. NOT GREASY. Any restaurant that changes their oil frequently is a GEM. I drive by every weekday evening and the lines vary.

Posted by: Patricia at August 17, 2007 10:15 AM

They deserve more than 5 stars. My husband Ralph has been a steady customer of the Clam Box since he was a lad of five! He is now 58 and has NEVER had a bad batch of clams or as a matter of fact of ANY of their fried food - the quality is so good!

I have tried most of their fare in the 13 years that I have been a customer here - (LOVE the BIG belly clams - I usually order this as it is my favorite meal now) and have found the food to be of EXCELLENT quality!

We take all of our family, friends, customers, everyone we can here!

We have been to Woodman's and to Farnham's a few times (we won't go back) - they are sadly lacking compared to the Clam Box and is well worth the drive and the wait! We won't go any place else for seafood - and we live in Magnolia!!!!!!!

Keep up the great work!

Posted by: Ralph & Isadora Kimmence at July 25, 2007 10:24 AM

They deserve more than 5 stars. My husband Ralph has been a steady customer of the Clam Box since he was a lad of five! He is now 58 and has NEVER had a bad batch of clams or as a matter of fact of ANY of their fried food - the quality is so good!

I have tried most of their fare in the 13 years that I have been a customer here - (LOVE the BIG belly clams - I usually order this as it is my favorite meal now) and have found the food to be of EXCELLENT quality!

We take all of our family, friends, customers, everyone we can here!

We have been to Woodman's and to Farnham's a few times (we won't go back) - they are sadly lacking compared to the Clam Box and is well worth the drive and the wait! We won't go any place else for seafood - and we live in Magnolia!!!!!!!

Keep up the great work!

Posted by: Ralph & Isadora Kimmence at July 25, 2007 10:24 AM

I now live in Ohio, born in Ipswich and go to the Clam Box when I visit the family in Mass. Boy, do I miss the fresh seafood and the people from the area. My aunt use to work at the clam box years ago with Chickie and the food still tastes as great as it did when I was a little girl. Yes, it would be a good idea to make the place bigger but it wouldnt be the clam BOX. Woodmans is not the cleanest place, and the last time I was there the food was greasy.......not the food at The Clam Box! I do agree that it would be great to have The Clam Box open all year long but it would also be nice to have Christmas all year long as well.

Posted by: anne at October 28, 2006 11:20 PM

the best

Posted by: ralph kimmence at September 2, 2006 08:55 PM

i have to say, i'm very choosy who i give 5 stars to...very rare for me, but if anyone deserves it, the clam box does!!! yes, the wait is sometimes painful, and i too wish they were open year round, and though the prices are up there a bit, my husband and i always share a combo plate, and leave satisfied...

as for olga, who sounds more like an ogre, you are clearly the crazy one...the clam box changes it's oil every single day, and if you need salt, add it yourself...some of us do NOT like our food salty!!! sounds like you're mistaking salt for taste, in fact in sound like you're mistaken about everything.

we have been to many places for fried clams all over new england, and clam box wins hands down...woodmans isn't even close!

love you clam box!!!

Posted by: mac at April 21, 2006 04:13 PM

Are you kidding me! Absolutley the BEST fried seafood around. Those that don't like it have lost their taste buds or never had any to begin with. Can't wait to get their again this spring, summer & fall.

Posted by: Jim Murray at April 15, 2006 10:59 AM


Not as good as it used to be!
Forget about the ridiculous long wait, & having to eat during "off hours";when we finally got a chance to eat there, the food was not as good as it used to be. Also, it's not cheap, so I'd expect better quality. The dining room is small, & was not particularly clean on our visit.
I'm a local; I grew up with these places. I definitely feel that there is better seafood in the neighborhood.
Like Woodman's, I think that this place is living off it's past reputation.

Posted by: Dave at February 5, 2006 04:57 PM

the ONLY place to eat! Chickie and her staff consistantly serve up the best fried clams and assorted fried shellfish. had pleasure of meeting Chickie this visit, a special thanks for the fried lobsta! the only change i would like?, is to be open for breakfast too!!! see you in october!

Posted by: chris at July 9, 2005 02:55 PM


Well worth the wait (and I think the line gets longer every weekend). Best clam shack I know of, and there is much competition (it is waaaay ahead of woodman's)! Don't expect opulence- it is a clam SHACK. Excellent fried seafood. I hope they build a large patio someday...

Posted by: Janet at June 27, 2005 05:11 PM


Anyone would have to be crazy to say that the Clam Box was bad. This place is hands down the best clam shack in the world. I've lived here for 36 years and have not had better clams anywhere. If I had more than two thumbs, they would all be up for THE CLAM BOX!!!!!

Posted by: Ed at March 10, 2005 02:01 PM

THis place is always crowded so avoid weekends especially. Never before have I had such great seafood. The food is ok priced - not too high but well worth it. The best seafood in Mass! I go very often with my husband - wish they were open year-round. Makes Woodmans cry. This is the best place!

Posted by: heidi b. at November 29, 2004 05:20 PM

One of us is crazy - me or the world; Clam Box was BAD beyond belief! It was the worst dining experience for me and my party! The fried stuff wasn't even saulted - no sault at all, no taste except of an old grease; it was hard to tell clams from oysters;how can anybody go there twice? the place was dirty, too, but it could be tolerated if the food would be edible - it was not; we both felt almost sick after the dinner

Posted by: Olga at October 11, 2004 05:36 PM


When you want fried clams try the Clambox in Ipswich. It is crowded, eat in the rough, or take out. For fried clams it is the best!

Posted by: Dan at August 28, 2004 08:26 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star