Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Not Your Average Joe's ~ Out of Town

45 Enon St. (Rte. 1A)
Commodore Plaza
Beverly, MA
(978) 927-8950




Posted by Cape Ann Web at November 12, 2003 10:23 AM


Reviews!

The waitress hit on my boy friend. Enough said. They need to employ a better class of people. The food is just so so and not worth the price. Like someone else said, all it is is a glorified 99 or Applebees. Nothing speical.

Posted by: Cindi at September 18, 2008 03:38 PM

The food is great (the grilled black angus meat loaf is my favorite!), the wine list is amazing and the bread is to die for.

"ALL THIS IS IS A glorified 99, i dont know what all the hype is about, the decor?? i am not willing to pay for decor, i would rather go to an original rest, this is a joke. lol

Posted by: JANET at July 26, 2006 12:26 PM"

The 99 is a STEAK house. NYAJ's has limited steak on their menu.

Posted by: Jessica at July 22, 2008 04:01 AM


Not your average Joe's but definately your average food. Try the Mariner just down the street.

Posted by: Dave North Shore Boy at March 23, 2008 08:26 AM

I think the negative reviews on this site are crazy or they are going to a different restaurant. We've been a half dozen times in the past two months and I think it's bar-none the best "normal" restaurant in the area. Great tasty food, good service, reasonable prices. Just get there early enough so you don't have to wait for a table.

Posted by: J at August 14, 2007 02:14 PM

ALL THIS IS IS A glorified 99, i dont know what all the hype is about, the decor?? i am not willing to pay for decor, i would rather go to an original rest, this is a joke. lol

Posted by: JANET at July 26, 2006 12:26 PM

I drive all the way from Indianapolis, IN to eat at the Joe's in Beverly----well sort of, anyway! I spend a month each Summer and Fall on Cape Ann and LOVE the salads, fish, pizza at Not Your Average Joe's. But the best thing is the bread and the dipping sauce. Sometimes I think about it when I'm at a restaurant out here in the Midwest---when they bring out a poor replica of the dipping oil from Joe's. Can't wait to get back there in June!

Posted by: jackie hutchings at March 7, 2006 04:27 PM

I have eaten in this place a few times only because older members of my family like it. The menu is very limited, if you want to have fun tell the server no bread please this is the only selling point they have. Factory food is the theme. I think it is Average or below Joe's

Posted by: Brian at March 4, 2006 11:55 AM

Went yesterday, our waiter was very nice and thorough, however the menu does not list main ingredients of certain dishes. For someone with food allergies this causes a HUGE problem so my salad came out with ingredients that I am severly allergic to that were not listed on the menu. Other than that, our entire party enjoyed their food very much!

Posted by: Harper at August 9, 2005 03:28 PM


I was part of a large group of folks who ate at the Beverly Joe's recently. I was from out of state and had never heard of Joe's. What a treat! Everyone loved their meal - I had the chicken oscar and it was great. The bread and dipping oil were super. Please come to Connecticut!

Posted by: Fran Rose at July 30, 2005 06:43 PM

Just a note,that I neglected to mention: The complimentary meal is for your birthday. I have yet to see what else will come in my email..but i assume coupons etc.

Posted by: foodgirl at July 5, 2005 01:32 AM


I have mainly eaten the pizza here and it is really a great surprise. One of the best pizza around..
But today was really the best visit there! I highly recommend filling out a card to get their emails, as you then receive a complimentary dinner and dessert! And none of the usual restrictions of it being the lesser of two entrees etc. We had a 42$ meal for 17 bucks plus tip. And it was great. Really fresh delicate halibut, the best green beans around, very good mashed and good shrimp scampi as well, and the dip is always great. Our waitress was excellent! Very attentive with perfect recommendations, and adjusted things to our requests. We got the dessert to go to bring to the fireworks and it was incredible! We had creme brulee cheesecake, with separate containers of real whipped cream, and a big cup of 3 types of berries in sweetened juice. It was a beautiful, fresh and delicious red white and blue July 4th extravaganza of a dessert! If you are used to meals being over 12 bucks then eat there often. If you normally only go for cheap eats, then go for the birthday meal and the pizzas and salads, but either way we highly recommend it, esp. for a chain.

Posted by: foodgirl at July 5, 2005 01:27 AM

Easily the best menu on the north shore. The dinners are yummy, especially the chicken carbonara which was originally only offered as a special but has now been made a permanent menu item. The specialty pizzas are also very good as is the salads. Their homemade bread dipped in the spicy olive oil is the best warm-up around. Definitely a place to try. The curbside take-out is also a great feature for those of us who are on the go.

Posted by: Jim at January 3, 2005 03:02 PM


I have eaten here twice. It is incredible!!! They do not take reservations, but you can call ahead to make the wait time a bit less. Everyone I have talked to about it says "I have to try it, I hear it is great" I recommend the mustard glazed pan fried chicken. It comes with smashed potatoes, and the freshest green beans. Dessert is yummy! I have tried their signature dish, "The peanut butter thing" and apple pie cinnamon sticks. This is highly recommended.

Posted by: Heather at January 12, 2004 11:23 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star