Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Cala's Restaurant ~ Manchester

7 Beach Street
Manchester-By-The-Sea, MA 01944
978-525-3304

On the web: www.calasrestaurant.com




Posted by Cape Ann Web at February 3, 2007 06:36 AM


Reviews!

I simply want to mention I'm new to weblog and absolutely savored your blog site. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with impressive articles and reviews. Thanks a lot for sharing your web-site.

Posted by: useful source at November 11, 2014 11:45 AM

We went to Cala's recently after being recommended to it for the hollandaise sauce. Our reasonable expectations, however, were met with disappointment.

In short, Cala's is a sports bar masquerading as a Refined Eating Establishment.

Issues for brunch:

* Music at about noon on a Sunday: alterna-grunge, including Nirvana's "Dumb", Weezer, Matisyahu, Violent Femmes' "Blister in the Sun", and other soothing hits. [Note to owner: please study your clientele once?]

* There are televisions everywhere in this bar (I mean restaurant). I mean EVERYWHERE.

* I had to brush the crumbs off my wife's bench seat before she sat down.

* Later, we witnessed the waitress wiping crumbs ONTO the seats, as opposed to a dustpan or rag.

* Mediocre food with above-average pricing. Example: a side order of bacon costs you $3. You get 3 (count 'em) whole strips of bacon for this side order [Really, Cala's?]

* Two flies immediately circled the food when it was placed on our table.

* It seems like the chef is trying, and this we appreciated - the hollandaise was *so close*. However, the eggs benedict made my wife have to run to the bathroom halfway through. [This should not happen.]

* She reported to me that the women's bathroom was out of service and that she had to use the men's bathroom. Apparently there was a puddle on the floor of the bathroom just next to the toilet. [It wasn't water.]

* No refills for coffee during brunch?

Suffice it to say that if Cala's can't get brunch together then there is no need to try the menu for dinner.

Posted by: Harry at July 19, 2010 02:39 PM

I like the new 'cheers' bar layout and the menu has great stuff. The tuna tartare app is heavenly, the burger plate is excellent and the high-end items too are good to very good. From the steak a poivre to roasted halibut, its all very good. I was there on a busy busy night (Wednesday!) and the waitress came over right away and told us "I am slammed - we never get this crowd so I will be right with you" and the hostess pitched in as well, keeping us and other tables happy. Whatever they are doing, its being done just right. It is popular among the locals who want something more 'upscale' than Al's and most of the rip-off joints in Gloucester.

Posted by: Chet B at April 5, 2010 12:50 PM

I like this place - the bar menu and a nice local crowd, the main menu has great salads, inventive seafood - a little pricey but hey this is Manchester. I go there often and enjoy it each time.

Posted by: Clifford at November 17, 2009 04:21 PM

NOTHING TO WRITE HOME ABOUT. food ok but overpriced

Posted by: caren at November 24, 2008 10:09 PM

i am a native to Manchester by the sea and find the resteraunt selections we have to be slim and unpleasin calas food is okay the resteraunt is like every single other modern resteraunt out there, a cool light here and there, painting once and a while, dim lighting and by the 100th time of expierincing this resteraunt i really am not impressed not to mention the food is not special at all

Posted by: janice at July 1, 2007 04:47 PM

Cala's in Manchester is a great place! Wonderful presentation, and service. We really miss the former Circolo, but Cala's is our new favorite! Great menu with seasonal choices done with a twist! They also have a decent menu for the kids!

Originally Posted by: Lisa at August 8, 2006 09:25 AM

Posted by: Admin at February 3, 2007 07:05 AM

After hearing wonderful things about Cala's in Manchester, we tried it out Friday night. We had a reservation for 12, but 1/2 of our party was running late. Upon telling the hostess this, she told us "it's not a problem. We have your table booked for you for the rest of the night" and sat us.

The long and short of it is that the rest of our party ended up being an hour late, but we being told the table was ours for the night, were assured it 'wouldn't be a problem'. It was obviously a problem for both our waitress and the hostess.

The waitress was rude and impatient the entire evening - actually rolling her eyes at us, sighing out loud, and telling us she 'needs a drink'. The hostess who told us the hour before that the table was 'ours for the night', then came over inquiring where the rest of the party was, telling us there is now a line waiting for tables, and asking us if we had any idea when we can expect the rest of our party.

The rest of our party arrived, and we finally ate our food. The food was mediocre - the appetizers were horrbile, by the way - and the service continued to be rude and sub-par. My veal was decent, but the potatoes were undercooked and colc - obviously made hours prior and reheated. It came with side salad that was dripping with balsamic vinegar.

We are frequent visitors of it's sister restaurant, Alchemy, and have never had such bad service and flavorless food.

I would not recommed Cala's - unless you're in the mood for a server with an attitute, a hostess who obviously needs more training, and okay food.

Originally Posted by: Stacy at October 10, 2006 09:41 AM

Posted by: Admin at February 3, 2007 07:01 AM


I brought my family to Cala's and can only say that it was a huge disappointment. The prices were incredibly high and the food was mediocre at best. Our waitress behaved as though we were a huge inconvenience to her, probably because we had the kids with us. The place is tiny and it got really loud. Never again.

Originally Posted by: Dave at November 8, 2006 12:58 PM

Posted by: Admin at February 3, 2007 06:57 AM

Aftar perhaps a dozen visits, I have found the food at Cala's to generally be excellent (a bad burger at lunch once) and interesting (osterich which was terrific), and the waitstaff to always be very accomodating. The prices seem pretty normal for a decent northshore restaraunt. But it can get noisy.

Originally Posted by: JE at January 1, 2007 06:41 PM

Posted by: Admin at February 3, 2007 06:48 AM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star