Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for La Trattoria & Pizzeria of the West End ~ Gloucester

64 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930

978-281-0790

Web site: www.latrattoriaandpizzeria.com




Posted by Cape Ann Web at June 27, 2006 07:40 AM


Reviews!

I just want to say I'm newbie to blogging and site-building and actually loved this blog. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely come with amazing articles and reviews. Bless you for sharing your web page.

Posted by: why not try here at November 11, 2014 11:09 AM

The worst pizza I ever had....pizza in Gloucester is not that good to start , this is the bottom of the barrel. The pizza itself was like a greasy burnt sponge..no sauce I could see and the cheese was stringy.

Posted by: Tom at February 3, 2012 07:30 PM

SKIP THE PIZZA!!!, You would hope that an italian restaurant would have italian style pizza, (cooked on a stone at least, crunchy crust, not so much cheese, not so raw) but this was far from it. I had to peel the cheese off, way too much, it seemed more like a pizza from the frozen food section of a super market, or a poor quality sub shop. Very greasy crust, probably from all the oil they use to clean the pans from, very chewy and soggie. I'm sorry for the poor review but after spending $16 on a pizza that wasn't even a real large, more like a medium, I will def. not be going back!

Posted by: Nick at October 18, 2010 03:33 PM


Though we have not ordered their pizza for awhile, it is the best in Gloucester, unless you like Franco American, Domino's, Papa Gino's or those of you who remember Woolworth's pizza. Will order again and revise if I am wrong, but this pizza IS the best in Gloucester.

Posted by: bill at June 4, 2009 05:59 PM


last weekend my frieend and her parents decided to order a pizza from this restaurant, what a mistake that was. i ordered a large pizza with three toppings. onions, peppers and sausage. when it arrived I couldn't belive it, covered in cheeze and i couldn't see any of the other toppings. i took two pieces for myself, i took all the cheeze off and discovered I had four thin sliced of pepper, three onions ( small) and two pieces of sausage again small.i was going to pick up the phone and tell them to come back and take this pizza and shove it, but i was asked not to. DON'T BUY A PIZZA FROM THIS PLACE TRUCT ME THEY SUCK

Posted by: jim at June 2, 2009 12:56 PM

I have eaten there a number of times, and it has been a mixed bag for me. I find the chef and who I assume to be the owner very helpful and friendly, but the hostess seems to have a chip on her shoulder when i walk through the door. I also find the pizza to be a little too soupy and the crust is far to thin to the point that it falls apart in my hand. Aside from one bad egg, the people are friendly, but I would urge you to skip the pizza.

Posted by: Bobby at May 21, 2009 01:59 PM

Dana:

I don't work for or have anything to do with the Trattoria . . .
but yes, they do have the best pizza in Gloucester, especially the white pizzas. As a Sicilian, I know good pizza, and they've got it.

dEc

Posted by: dIscerning EATS critic at April 25, 2009 06:36 PM

It really would be nice if this restaurant wouldn't write there own reviews .

Posted by: Dana at April 21, 2009 02:25 PM

Best veal, best sauce. I know Pete and Sam from the restaurant in Boston near Fenway. I'm glad they opened La Trattoria in Gloucester and offer great food in a lovely setting. When I come up from Brockton, I always sit down and enjoy their food.

Posted by: Paul Murphy at April 21, 2009 06:39 AM

Gloucester's BEST pizza, without doubt. Crust, toppings, creative combos . . . everything.

We tried the rest, then found the best . . . and they deliver, too.

Guaranteed YUM!

Posted by: Discerning EATS critic at December 21, 2008 05:08 PM

Best pizza in Gloucester, hands down. And, they deliver!

Posted by: bill at December 13, 2008 10:37 AM

We are from the west coast and were spending time in Gloucester. We happened in to this place in the mid afternoon for a guick desert and drink. The owner and lady working were extremely friendly, and interested in us. This prompted us to return that evening for one of the best Italian dinners we have ever had. When we came back to town the following week we made a point to stop one afternoon, and the owner remembered us. We again ate dinner there. Very friendly and authentic Italian food. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Posted by: Dave & Elaine at October 2, 2008 07:09 PM

The rotini is incredible! apparently it is a family recipe that the owner's mother takes great pride in because it is heart healty. She doesn't fry the eggplant!!
Also try to Chicken Cacciatori - wonderful!

Posted by: suewelch1 at July 4, 2008 11:37 AM

Excellent place to eat! Very fine dining. Good Pizza and Great Calzones. Try chicken and Broccolli! The Best ever! Wonderful service. Very friendly staff! Deserves a five star!!!!!!!!

Posted by: TINA at June 19, 2008 05:48 PM

I have went to this place many of times i have always loved the food and it is pretty cheap. the staff is pleasent.

Posted by: kshm at March 21, 2008 08:25 PM

I must say...I have been to a few functions at La Trattoria...and have always left VERY pleased. The food is fantastic and flavorful, and the service has been great. The owners are very friendly and family oriented. I also had my daughters Graduation Party here, and it went off perfectly. Everyone loved the food, and the owners were once again very pleasant and went out of their way to make it a perfect day for my daughter and our guests.

Great Food !

Well Done!

Posted by: Brent at March 11, 2008 12:02 AM

I think it is kind of lame that this place gave itself their own review. I would not eat there just because of that, they should have the public decide not themselves. And why do we care so much about Sandy from China, do you serve Chinese food there

Posted by: Mark L. at March 10, 2008 12:13 PM


I want to reply to the ONLY negative review on this site. Sandy called from China, her telephone number came up on the caller id as 10000000 and that to me looked like it was a telemarketer, she did not explain that she was calling to book a party. The phone call came from China and reception was not clear at all, the first person told her that it was a bad time to call, so she should have called at a better time.... however our reviews as you can see are rated 4 stars and up.
We have been open for over 3 years and very successful. Here at Latrattoria, we provide excellent service making sure our customers leave here happy with a great big smile.

We'd like to thank everyone that has taken time to write a reiew about us.

Management

Posted by: Sandy is WRONG at March 7, 2008 02:48 AM


Food was very good and few places can make you feel like family as the staff at this place. When I return from the Midwest, I will be back! Thank you Sammy & crew.

Posted by: Earl at February 14, 2008 11:17 PM


visited Friday night w/party of 8, excellent experience. Frutti Di Mare was outstanding and had plenty of seafood in a just spicy enough sauce.Very reasonable,portions excellent and byob makes it an excellent dining experience.

Dean

Posted by: Dean at February 8, 2008 10:51 PM


Best place in town! Friendly atmosphere you are treated like family there! I Love it. Highly recommended!

Posted by: S at December 11, 2007 04:24 PM


Great pizza and other food, Great owners and people, Great restaurant, Great atmosphere, I highly recommend this restaurant if you visit Gloucester or Cape Ann.

Posted by: stephane at October 13, 2007 08:42 PM

The pizza is amazing! I travel all the way from Malden to get it...totally worth the trip. Every dish is made to order and is served hot and fresh and delicious. I have also used their banquet halls for functions of 50 and over and have scored big points with our guests for the great food and fantastic service. they are an all star team and they do you right! Can't reccomend them enough.

Posted by: Troy at September 7, 2007 11:48 AM


I love the food! I would eat there more often but they do not have a very good selection of wine.

Posted by: M.A. at July 2, 2007 02:41 PM

RUDEST PEOPLE IN THE WHOLE ENTIRE WORLD!!!! I just tried to call this restaurant to book a buffet for 50 people and they told me rudely 1) Call back because its a really busy time...which ok, I get that, but no need to be rude but then the woman actually HUNG UP ON ME!!!! and then 2) for some reason after she hung up on me there was still guy on another line there who started yelling at me telling me not to call back. WHAT THE HECK IS UP WITH THAT??? THEY APPARENTLY DON'T WANT BUSINESS. I am just so upset right now, I would definitely NEVER EVER GO TO THIS RESTAURANT. After treatment like that, I will tell all my friends and family never to step foot in this restaurant. I can't imagine how they treat customers when they are face to face, but ifs its anything like they do on the phone, FORGET IT. I am still shocked at the treatment I just received. HORRIBLE!!!!

Posted by: Sandy at June 15, 2007 09:35 PM


LA Trattoria is a great experience. The Entre's are delicious every time I go. The deserts are even better. The owners are friendly and the atmosphere is perfect. You will find excuses to drive up to Gloucester so you can eat here.

Posted by: Doug at May 10, 2007 07:57 PM

This is our favorite restaurant. Not only is the food great but it's like you're part of the family when you are there. We go at least once a week and sometimes more often.

Posted by: Jerry & Diane at April 18, 2007 10:47 PM

I just can't help savoring in my mind, weeks after my visit to the restaurant, the fresh and delicious hors-d'oeuvre, prelude to my dinner...
It was beautiful...

Posted by: Murielle at April 4, 2007 10:46 AM

The real sicilian food wow wow the best food i ever had LOVE THE PLACE TRATTORIA

Posted by: jak at March 2, 2007 07:27 PM

The food... was outstanding. The menu....too many delicious looking options to choose from. This place is in a perfect Gloucester location, if it was in the North End it would blow most of the Italian restaurants out of the water. Last time I heard they were working on a liquor license.They really went to town on the decor...There is a private room in the back and its has beautiful. They were getting ready for a sit down dinner for 30 or 40.

Its pretty new, I had met the owners, Peter & Sam & , from a previous restaurant they worked at. They are very friendly, they came around to all the tables and said Hello. So tell them Danielle sent you.

You will love it...Trust me I'm an event planner from California formerly from Boston. My standards are high from Service to Food to Decor. This is a winner.

Posted by: Danielle at February 4, 2007 02:42 PM


Excellent! I love this place!

Posted by: Shan at November 8, 2006 09:52 AM

Beautiful place,great food and friendly staff.
BYOB and that makes it much cheaper and i will keep going there and bring all my firends and family. I rate it 5 stars

Posted by: peter at July 5, 2006 05:50 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star