Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Last Stop Variety ~ Gloucester

Last Stop Variety
273 East Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930
Tel: (978) 281-2616




Posted by Cape Ann Web at August 12, 2004 07:45 AM


Reviews!

Howdy, I've been visiting this site for a while; Needed to chip in

Posted by: frorryisa at August 27, 2009 10:35 AM

Lauren:

Thanks very much for your response. I appreciate your taking the time to answer my inquiries.

jo

Posted by: jo at May 7, 2009 08:29 PM

Sorry Jo, I call the newspaper company all of the time but they decide how many papers we are allowed. Happy to put one aside for you each day just ask any employee to add you to the list. As far as the purple bags are concerned, we must order them and then they are shipped to us. This has been a very bad year for us and I can not afford to order several cases at one time. Summer is coming promise to try harder. Thanks for the post!

Posted by: Lauren at May 1, 2009 09:20 PM

You guys . . . PLEASE get more newspapers; keep purple trashbags in stock . . . what is so hard about this??????

thanx

Posted by: jo at April 30, 2009 09:35 PM


i love the last stop!! and i love that one .. i think it is jeremiah.. he is a riot and a super cutie.

Posted by: anna at May 27, 2008 03:08 AM

I agree with the last post on the board, it's not often a place will let you leave with a sandwich after you stupidly forgot your purse at home! Talk about small store charm! I also love that every time I go into the last stop, the employees are always so kind and friendly! They really make you feel like a regular at an old country store! I've gotten to know them all by name and love that they know me back. I miss seeing Jillian and Jeramiah around though! Where did they go?

The prices may be a bit high, but I don't mind. I'll pay the extra 50 cents for my soda because I think I get my money's worth in charm and friendliness!!!

Definately worth checking out!!! Great beach food!

Posted by: Jan at March 18, 2007 05:05 PM

NOTE FROM SITE ADMIN:

I'm not going to edit these entries, but would just like to remind folks that this is a restaurant review site. The Last Stop is included in our listings because it does serve soups, sandwiches, etc. We'd appreciate it if reviewers would limit their comments to opinions of the food and service. Thanks!



In response to TinaMarie who thinks it's too much for a litre of coke at the Last Stop, do go to Stop and Shop and enjoy the walk and I hope you get a good workout from carrying the bottles back to East Gloucester! The Last Stop is a neighborhood favorite, providing "Last minute" groceries to support the community here. They don't get the bulk price breaks that large, regional and national chains get. They are a single, small volume store. Simple economics, dummy! I and many people here are greatful to have this amazing little variety store with truly homemade pies (not premade, frozen and sent to the store to bake, like many other places here). They make fabulous homemade soups from scratch, a range of fresh sandwiches, and guess what? If you run out of toilet paper, they have that, too! The owners are dedicated to supporting this community and put their hearts and souls into a business that quite frankly, can't be too profitable, with the tight margins they need to keep to be competitive with the Stop and Shops and Shaw's Markets here. Many times I have popped in last minute to get something and been short of money or forgotten my wallet and they have given me the nickel/dime/quarter to cover the purchase or let me walk out with my muffin, trusting that I'll come back with the money. See if they do that at the big stores, honey! Next time you pass the Last Stop on your way to buy a soda at Stop and Shop, think about needing something during a blizzard and that place wasn't there. Enjoy the walk and take the money you save and buy some snow shoes. You'll need them!

Posted by: EastGloucesterGal at August 13, 2006 02:49 PM

i like last stop because thats exactly what it is, the last resort. the prices are ridiculous. it is almost 3 dollars for a 2 liter of pepsi. come on now. i'd rather walk the mile and a half to stop -n- shop if the wheather is nice.

Posted by: TinaMarie at August 4, 2006 12:10 PM


Thank God that there are still great Mom & Pop places in Gloucester like Last Stop. Great soup, muffins, roll-ups. I like that they "know my name".

Posted by: Charlotte at May 19, 2006 07:49 PM

I love last stop variety. The sandwiches are AMAZING! They have really nice people working there and it is such a nice shop. I especially like that redheaded girl, shes so sweet. I see her in there on Sundays.

Posted by: Bruce at May 18, 2006 08:26 AM

the last stop variety is awesome i love the food there. i also think the service is great, that redheaded girl there on sunday was so cute and sweet. :-)

Posted by: chilli at May 18, 2006 08:25 AM


This place is wonderful. The homeade soups are always delicious as are the sandwhiches. I would never think to get a bite to eat at a variety store, but trust me! It's worth it here.

Posted by: Heather at April 4, 2006 01:17 PM


My grandmother lives up the street from this place so i've been going there almost the entirety of my life, about 20 years, from my childhood and on when I was in Gloucester.

No matter who stops in the people are always kind and don't give you looks if you browse for a long time. The service always comes with a smile and it has an atmosphere I imagine is what most small town shops were like 30 years ago and older.

Posted by: Jonathan at April 4, 2006 10:59 AM


I love coming to this store. I was going for a walk and didn't have any intentions of going in but the smell louered my inside. I walked in with a greeting and just felt like a regular. I got the chicken noodle and i chicken salad on tomato roll up with a pasta salad. Everything there was delicous definetly going again.

Posted by: Janice at October 28, 2005 10:35 PM


OH MY! when i went to the last stop i got greeted with such respect right! when i walked in! Even though there was a line of costomers i still felt like i was the only one. they were very organized with what they were doing. Two employee's were making sandwiched, one was ringing up costomers, but than another seemed to be doing the dishes and telling people "if your not geting sandwiches you may go to the resister this line is only for sandwiches" and i felt that was a very good idea because than two people steped out of line and went to the register. Ive been going there for quite some time and they seem to get better and better each year!
than with the priceings i belive is a little expensive for the "variety" products, but for the sandwiches is VERY! resonable. the test is so worth while! I very much recomend the last stop variety for there very delicous foods!

Posted by: Sharon at March 6, 2005 10:36 PM


This place is a real gem. Truly one of the "last" country stores around. I especially love their homemade (really from scratch!)soups and their seafood and clam chowders are divine (I think they use a little sherry in the recipe). The soups are cheap, starting at $2.99 for a cup. I also love their sandwiches. Where else can you get a big yummy sandwich with free potato salad, pasta salad or chips for $5? The tuna and chicken salads are all white meat and not overloaded with mayo. Of course, Last Stop is most well known for it's gigantic muffins (try the real homemade blueberry muffin, a New England classic). It's light, fluffy, choc a bloc full of blue berries and not too sweet. You can also rent DVDs there! This small business is worth supporting, even at the expense of your waistline!!!!!!

Posted by: LJ at October 14, 2004 06:06 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star