Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Espresso Ristorante & Pizzeria ~ Gloucester

114 East Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930
(978) 283-0600


www.espressoitaliangrille.com




Posted by Cape Ann Web at November 12, 2003 08:44 AM


Reviews!

Sat at the bar Friday night, there was an awesome performer (Steve Brennan) who played and sang the whole time we were there. He was really good - great voice - we really enjoyed that.
Started with a cup of excellent corn and chicken chowder - wish I had ordered the whole bowl, it was that good. The server also brought a dish of warm dipping oil with lots of chopped olives in it. Very unique and wonderful with the warm foccacia that is baked there. Yum!

The man had all you can eat fish and chips, which he loved (14.95) and I had a sausage and bacon pizza (13.95). The pizza was HUGE and very good. The crust was thin and crispy, nice. Most of it came home with us because I got so full stuffing down that bread and oil : )

The service was very good and fast, everyone was very nice. A good experience all the way around.

Posted by: Ellie at January 30, 2011 02:07 PM

Third Sunday in a row to watch football. 3rd Sunday in a row for terrible service. 10 minutes to get a refill numerous times. Bartender unable to chew and walk gum at the same time. Bill was wrong. Saw 3 other couples walk out disgusted after waiting 10-15 minutes to pay...

Posted by: chris x at November 8, 2010 10:54 AM

Mediocre, at best, in every way.

Posted by: ed at October 2, 2010 02:04 PM


I had the best piccata ever here last week! Mangia!

Posted by: Kim at September 23, 2010 01:34 PM


idecided to try the new place because it looks so nice from the outside. Slightly below average food and RUDE RUDE waitstaff and owner. what an over-priced disappointment

Posted by: david elzey at September 15, 2010 11:32 PM

OMG! The new place is so beautiful and spacious.

Good luck!

Posted by: M at August 16, 2010 08:52 AM

Note from Admin: No reviews of this restaurant have been removed.

This is not a place for commentary about this site or other reviewers. The guidelines ask that entries be reviews of food and service that you personally experienced.

Thanks.


What happened to all the bad reviews since the new owner took over? Seems like she paid someone to remove them.

Posted by: bill at July 18, 2010 03:43 PM

How this woman stays in business and is actually expanding to the old Harbor House in East Gloucester is beyond me. We went to the block party and decided to see if this place was good or if all the negative reviews written about it are true. Negative is true! A waitress was going to seat 2 of us at a table when the very rude owner came up and told us there would be a 30 minute wait, even though there were many seats. Since I do not wait, particularly when ordered by a rude person, we left and where directed by yet another rude person that we could only exit through the opening pointed to. I left through that exit but my girlfriend pushed her way out the same way we came in.

This "person" could have the best food in Gloucester, but will never see a penny of my money, and we eat out 5 nights a week.

We used to go to Espresso under the previous ownership and were always satisfied.

Only go to this place if you are a glutton for punishment.

Posted by: Giovanni at July 18, 2010 08:14 AM

Went to Espresso last night during the block party and what a horrible experience. We got there early, a little before 6pm and we were only the third party in the restaurant. No one was sitting outside yet. We placed our order and then proceeded to wait, and wait, and wait. There were 4 of us and we all ordered just sandwiches. After 45minutes, and after seeing other trays of food going past us and being taken outside, we asked where OUR food was. The waitress quickly snipped, "It's coming right out". 10minutes later, and after asking again where our food was, we got our food dumped onto the table. The 3 people who ordered the chicken fajita wraps, got chicken fajita on a panini roll. When questioned about it, the waitress said that they were "chicken fajita paninis". (2 of the people in our group had gotten the chicken fajita wrap a couple of weeks ago and it had been in WRAP, not on a panini.) The chicken tasted odd also. We had 4 kids with us and one of them also ordered the chicken fajita wrap, but got chicken fingers, and then proceeded to have to wait as long as the adults did for her correct order. The sandwiches, which were supposed to come w/ chips and a pickle, came with nothing. When we asked the waitress, she left and came back w/ 4 bags of chips which she tossed on the table for us. When we asked her about the pickle, she left again coming back w/ pickles on a plate. Then we had the distinct pleasure of having the owner come over to our table to ask us what the problem was. When we told her we felt that we had waited way too long for sandwiches and that the order was screwed up, she rudely said, "Well everyone's waiting!". After that fiasco, a different waitress came over to give us our bill and to explain that there were 2 different menus that night, one for outside customers and one for inside customers. The sandwiches that we had gotten were off the outside customer menu and that the waitress had gotten confused and put in the wrong order. No explanation as to why it took so long for our order, but people who had come after us and were sitting outside were getting there food before us. After leaving and speaking w/ the owner again, the watiress then took the bill and said we wouldn't have to pay. As we were telling the waitress that we would be willing to pay for what the kids had eaten and part of the bill, the owner then came over and said "you don't have to pay anything just leave". Unbelievably rude and horrible customer service. Food not very good. Don't go there if you can help it. There are much better places around to eat.

Posted by: Sheryl at July 19, 2009 08:52 AM


Went last night based on a review I read. I have been in for lunch and the sandwiches are very good. Dinner was not so good. The salad was very small with a slice of a tomato and one cucumber slice. The meal portion was adequate but it lacked flavor. I had the chicken marsala and my wife had the eggplant parm. Both were lacking the flavor kick.

Posted by: David at April 30, 2009 12:32 PM

Great Italian food, pleasant atmosphere and frendly service. A menu that offers a variety of choices. Definately will return to sample more off the menu.

Posted by: Jean at April 29, 2009 08:35 PM

Still a solid place for a really good meal.Predictable Quality is always a good thing.Comfort Food when you want some really good Italian without the fancy prices.I've brought friends there many times and as they say "Don't judge a book by it's cover." It may not look fancy but when we get right down to it, it really is all about THE GREAT FOOD HERE.Try it and you will be a convert & in this recession it's a BARGAIN!!!!.

Posted by: marillion at April 28, 2009 10:50 PM

i travelled with sharon and have to agree what a little cracker Espressos is.The staff were polite and helpful and the atmosphere of the whole place made our evening enjoyable.i especially enjoyed my fresh seafood and know that our whole group enjoyed themselves and will be returning asap.

Posted by: sue at April 27, 2009 09:32 AM

travelling from england to gloucester for the first time it was a lovely surprise to find such a welcoming and friendley little jewel that is Espressos.we have no complaints about the food from there homemade focaccia bread to there excelliant seafood.As a group we ordered many differant items but sampled all.many thanks for such a wonderful evening and the memories we took back home with us

Posted by: sharon at April 27, 2009 09:25 AM

Agree with the previous poster, Espresso is a hidden gem. Very good Italian food, good bread. Lunch prices reasonable, waitstaff wonderful. Go on a Saturday afternoon. An old-fashioned good food experience. Crystal is a sweetheart.

Posted by: jo at February 3, 2009 03:48 PM

One of Gloucester's hidden gems.Espresso is so yummy and always dependable, I know I can't go wrong eating at Espresso's.I especially love the chicken dishes and the Pizza's out of this world.

Posted by: Marillion at July 29, 2008 07:40 AM

love this place. this is the best pizza in town imo. haven't tried much else...tried the shells and they were great. place has a nice, old fashioned vibe.

Posted by: g stacka at June 29, 2008 12:08 AM

I LOVE ESPRESSO THE FOOD IS GREAT EVEN THOUGH IT HAS CHANGED HANDS PAST 2 YEARS THE FOOD IS GREAT THE PRICES ARE A BIT HIGH STILL LOVE THE FOOD

Posted by: Heather at May 28, 2008 12:42 PM


This is an excellent place to take kids or if you just want some real great italian food for the right price, this is the place for you. The pizza is great, and we go specifically for the baked ziti, it is the best I have had. The waitstaff is always friendly and accomadating. Nothing romantic but if you just want some good food for a reasonable price with or without the kids, I would highly recommend it.

Posted by: Jackie R at December 29, 2007 04:07 PM


I didn't think I would be saying this about an Italian restaurant but I just had their clam chowder and it is the best in New England!!! Chock full of clams and not too thick and pasty like some can be. An unexpected suprise! Reasonable prices and great food, period.

Posted by: Trisha at April 2, 2007 01:10 PM

dinner is a joke... maybe for half the price, but come on... $12 for pasta still floating in water... i can cook better pasta and i got as much italian in me as.... well i have none... and no cooking skills... but i can make pasta and save $11.50

lunch is great tho... marissa is awesome

Posted by: Judson Abts at October 13, 2006 12:50 AM


No pretense here. Just great mom and pop style Italian food at reasonable prices.

Posted by: bill at January 7, 2005 09:59 PM


best pizza in the region, my girl friend loves the italian dishes and says they are easily comparable to the north end. Prices are frighteningly inexpensive.

Posted by: mike at November 5, 2004 10:52 AM

Good, inexpensive home style Italian food. Best pizza in Gloucester. Sweet and friendly service. Try the meatballs.

Posted by: jeff at May 10, 2004 10:35 AM

I love Espresso. My Italian mom's a great cook, but dinner's on me, Mom. We're going out

Posted by: chad Carlberg at April 20, 2004 01:16 PM

This could be the best kept secret in Gloucester. Food is WONDERFUL - the best outside of the North End - service friendly. Food keeps us coming back!

Posted by: Candy H. at April 15, 2004 06:38 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star