Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Leonardo's Pizzeria Plus ~ Gloucester

273 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930
(978) 281-7882




Posted by Cape Ann Web at November 12, 2003 08:27 AM


Reviews!

I used to go there years ago for an occasional sub and they are really good. But then I ordered a pizza and stopped going there. I am back eating their delicious subs. Wish I knew where to find a REAL Italian thin, thin crust pizza.

Posted by: ED at June 10, 2011 02:57 PM

Clearly Maria doesnít know what Italian food is... she is calling "Michellena's Italian tv dinners" a meal that may exceed two stars. I agree, the Carbonara and Alfredo are not done well here, but any other Italian dish is very fresh. I have been going there for years and they do cook the pasta per order, sometimes they may cook two orders at once on a busy night to keep things moving but it is fresh. And obviously Maria has never had good Lasagna, Leonardoís makes lasagna just as it should be, it has the meat sauce, the ricotta, the mozzarella, and their delicious sauce. Also Leonardoís seems to be one of the few Italian places in town that does not use pans for their pizzas, just as they donít use pans for a pizza made in Italy, go to another joint you get that greek style, super sweet soggy pizza. If they are so bad how is it that they have been in business since the early 90's and still seem to be pretty busy on a weeknight? Maria seems like a stuck up miserable person who will go out of her way to bash local businesses because that is what a pathetic person like her would do. And the cook you are talking about is Anna, she is a sweetheart and for her to scream at you, you must be a rotten person. Go make your own food you miserable witch, no restaurants want a douche bag like you in their place, you have no soul Maria...

Posted by: Steve L. at February 16, 2011 01:50 PM

If there was an option for a 0 star review, I would have chosen it. Leonardo's needs to stick to serving simple meals such as the subs and salads. One will find this 'sub shop' nestled in between a few small shops on Main Street. Anything beyond the sub and salad cuisine, is too complicated for them to handle. Me and 3 other friends went there for dinner - if I could have made use of my meal by 'feeding it to the gulls' as one of the previous reviewers mentioned, I would have felt better with their efforts to make spaghetti carbonara and lasanga. What the 'aunt' or whomever she was at the restuarant doesn't seem to grasp is that carbonara is made with eggs and pancetta - not with torn up pieces of ham that they use in their sub menu. We were served, and I am not exaggerating, a bowl of soggy linguine (obviously made the previous day), that was thrown in the microwave, doused with cream, and tossed with torn pieces of ham cold cuts. The result - an inedible dish that was a total abomination of what is suppose to be Italian cuisine. We could not eat it and when we mentioned this to the waitress, a relative of the 'cook', she agreed that there have been complaints about her cooking. I went to the counter to explain this to the 'cook' and she got very upset and screamed at us to leave. No offer to give us an alternative dish. We had to leave all 4 meals on the table - the lasagna was heaped with what looked like store bought tomato sauce. My suggestion for anyone who is looking for Italian food in Gloucester that exceeds the 2 star level is for you to either go to the supermarket and pick up some Michellena's Italian tv dinners or to check out a reputable restaurant in Gloucester that may have an Italian dish on the menu such as Passports, Maria's or the Duckworth Bistro (sorry if I missed someone else). It is pathetic that Gloucester with its Portugese and Italian population does not have a decent Italian restuarant - and the ones who just serve subs and salads really don't count, I'm talking authentic Italian cuisine- not slop on a plate topped with commercial tomato sauce. Good luck Leonardo's and please, it would really help if you dropped the poor attitude.

Posted by: Maria at February 12, 2011 09:36 AM

Great place food was awesome and delicious. I go there very often and the staff is full of personality. I would recommend everyone to go there for great salads, subs, and pasta. The prices are great considering other places charge a little more..I love leonardos!

Posted by: John at June 12, 2010 03:53 PM

By far best sub shop in town. Food is always fresh, Salads are the best, workers are so friendly, only downfall is they are a little pricy, but worth it for a good meal.

Posted by: Pam at July 14, 2009 01:23 PM

, Great food, Great people, Great prices. The only complaint I have, it is dirty in there. The bathrooms, floors, and paint. But I do love the food and workers.

Posted by: PAK at June 14, 2009 05:18 PM

Best salads and subs in town!!!

Posted by: Mike B. at January 9, 2009 08:27 PM

Hands down the BEST place in town!!!! If you can find anything wrong with this place..you got a problem or you just have no taste what so ever!!! The Linguisa sub is the BEST I have ever tasted and trust me, I have tried them all. The Lasanga is great also, it's just like Momma makes only better!
Thank you Leonardos for keeping me and my stomache HAPPY!!!

Posted by: Rhonda at March 4, 2008 02:41 PM

I have eaten subs there in the past, but the two pizzas that we ordered tonight, we fed to the gulls. Domino's has gourmet pizza compared to Leonardo's. This is the worst review I have ever given and it is well deserved. Maria's and Delaney's are acceptable, but you would be better off buying frozen pizza in the supermarket than Leonardo's pizza.

Posted by: bill at January 11, 2008 07:52 PM


I agree with the previous reviewer...definitely the best salads on the North Shore. Especially the chicken kabob salad. There's something about the way they marinate the chicken. It's simply the best! Friendly service and we've always felt like they really appreciate their customers.

Posted by: Bubbles at April 2, 2007 02:46 PM


BEST SALADS ON THE NORTH SHORE!!!!!!
YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH ANYTHING THEY HAVE THERE
THE STAFF IS FRIENDLY AND THE FOOD IS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by: J at June 29, 2005 02:59 PM

great food, best subshop in town. the best and freshest chicken kabob salads i've ever had! also really good cheesesteaks that aren't all that fatty meat. never had a bad meal here!!

Posted by: tammy at October 8, 2004 02:23 PM

If you are looking for the best chicken caesar salad on Cape Ann, look no further than Leonardo's on Main Street. Fresh romaine lettuce, home made croutons, and grilled marinated chicken breast cooked to order is the best meal in town.

Posted by: Miss Kris at November 13, 2003 04:21 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star