Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Halibut Point Restaurant ~ Gloucester

289 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930
Tel: (978) 281-1900
Fax: (978) 281-3632

One the web: www.halibutpointrestaurant.com




Posted by Cape Ann Web at November 12, 2003 06:42 AM


Reviews!

A feel at home place. Best burgers imaginable. specials are great and dont forget the low tide pie

Posted by: karlos at March 7, 2014 05:36 PM

I don't know what has happened to Halibut Point recently ..... my husband and I have dinner there frequently, sometimes a couple of times a week. Last night we were surprised to see three selections on the "Specials" board were Italian food. There are new cooks there now and I certainly hope this will not turn into another Italian restaurant. We have several Italian restaurants in Gloucester already. My husband ordered the Chicken Cacciatore and it was just terrible.....a very small portion served with roasted potatoes which were very hard.....not sure if undercooked or dried up. He also had a cup of a new chic pea soup which he said had no flavor at all. The food was just not the same quality we are used to at Halibut Point. I hope this was just an off night and not a sign of Halibut Point heading in a new direction.

Posted by: Patricia Knowlton at October 13, 2011 11:13 AM


I posted six years ago and everything I said then is still true--even that we would stop by anytime we were within 100 miles. I do wonder what happened to those who left unhappy: we have had great food, especially clam chowder, and beer there every year now for six years. And the folks are friendly but don't smother you with fake cheer.

Posted by: Maynard Mack, Jr at October 8, 2011 10:07 AM


Stopped in for an early, mid-week dinner with my family (and 1 year old daughter). The food was really good and simply prepared (we had burgers and fish), the locally brewed beer on tap was super, and the staff was cheerful and charming. They even had toys to entertain the baby. We're new in town but they made us feel quite welcome. We'll certainly be going back.

Posted by: Michelle M at June 18, 2009 04:03 PM

We just returned from one of our yearly trips to Cape Ann. We "discovered" Halibut Point for the first time. We completely enjoyed the clam chowder and fish soup - simply the best in the area! We returned two days later for a burger and salad. Both were once again fantastic. The service was freindly and nice. The prices seemed reasonable for the portions and quality of food. Don't miss this place - its a great pub style establishment and we will return on our next trip this fall.

Posted by: Patricia at June 14, 2009 05:16 PM

Perhaps PHD, the previous poster, is getting better service and food because he IS a REGULAR. For the casual customer who happens in 2 or 3 times a year, the food is average or just slightly above, but honestly it is too expensive...not a good value.

Posted by: Tori at May 14, 2009 02:01 PM

One can always count on Halibut Point to be open a little later than every other restaurant on Cape Ann.Casual atmosphere, reliable food and one of the best darn burgers in town.Staff are friendly in a "Cheers" sort of way, nice to unwind after a long commute home with dinner and a drink where everybody knows your order before you open your mouth.They go above and beyond by taking my dinner order over the phone when it's late at night.How many restaurants would do that for you?

Posted by: PHD at May 12, 2009 08:01 PM

There are apparently a bunch of negative shills here. Halibut Point is great and most people from the area cherish its existence (I am not from the area for the record). The food, while certainly not comparable to the finer Boston or New York establishments, is consistently good - especially the chowders, steak tips, asparagus, haddock and many other items. To one of the earlier poster's points, the Low Tide pie also is a winner. Top it off with congenial staff and great value, I have an exceptionally difficult time understanding the criticisms on this post. Any visitor to the area should give HP a shot.

Posted by: Alex at May 9, 2009 08:03 PM

the below entry should read I went there the other day first time in a long time the service and the food was great like it has always been every time I have gone.

Posted by: Mr Tuna at November 11, 2008 01:56 PM

I have not been there in a long time but food and service was as great as it has always been.

Posted by: Mr Tuna at November 10, 2008 10:26 AM

my mom went there with her sister in law. Saw 2 tables for 4 availible. Hostess would not seat them in a table for 4 in case a party of 4 came in. They were told that they would have to wait for a table for 2. They could not understand the reasoning for this. They ended up leaving and will never go back!!

Posted by: Beth at July 29, 2008 04:38 PM


This was the worst...Flat soda they charge 2.25 and they charge for refills..Food was not great chips were stale nothing on the burger for $15.00 my wife got the steak tips that were $18 and she got maybe 6 small pieces. The portions are very small and the prices are out of control. we sat in the back waitress was BAD and the furniture you sit in is very sticky...DONT GO HERE IF YOU HAVE A CHOICE

Posted by: Kim at July 2, 2008 08:30 AM

I am finally fed up with this place. The food is okay and the waitstaff is good.

However, after going there as a local at least monthly for more than 10 years and never being acknowledged by the owners or management, I am done with this place, forever.

Big deal--Their Italian fish soup is good.

Posted by: bill at March 22, 2008 09:02 PM


We went here several weeks ago, and go basically for a pub atmosphere with some pub food. Well, we have realized that they are taking themselves a little more seriously. Everything seems to have gone up quite a bit over the years, and the burgers are no bargain, and don't come with any sides. The food is mediocre at best, which we have always accepted but now with the prices where they are, it will be hard for us to sit and enjoy a meal. I would go for a hot toddy on a winter day but maybe go to another place for the dining part. They have a great cozy place but have gone a little too far in their pricing!

Posted by: Jackie at December 29, 2007 04:38 PM

Gee. I ate there for the first time the other night and thoroughly enjoyed the cup of creamy haddock chowda and the grilled-scallops skewer we shared for apps. For dinner, I had a hefty chunk of grilled salmon atop a bed of fresh greens that was very very tasty. Washed it all down with a mug o' Ipswich Ale and chased it with fresh-brewed decaf.

Evidently, it's the luck o' the draw and we hit on a good night.

Posted by: Baba Aus at October 3, 2007 01:36 PM

DELISH clammy chowda

Posted by: gloucstah resident at September 15, 2007 11:06 PM


I've been going to Halibut Point for more than 10-years, and I am never even acknowledged or greeted by the owner.

Food is good, especially the fish soup, and NO DEEP FRY!

The seasonal young waitresses are very nice, but the long time waitstaff is rude, rude, rude! Typical New England, we don't need your business attitude.

I only go there because the choices are so limited, but would drop them like a hot potato...good fish soup or not.

Posted by: bill at February 27, 2007 09:57 AM


The food was ok, but I was not that impressed. Overpriced for what it was. What's with everything in tin foil? When my husband and I got our dessert, we joked about "where's the foil?"

Posted by: westglogirl at October 28, 2006 05:32 PM

Oh, and if anyone from HP is reading this, please consider getting a deep fryer. Fries with your burgers would be so much better than chips.

Posted by: MJ at February 9, 2006 08:11 PM

Come here for the beer (cold), burgers (charred) and oysters (fresh). Nice and consistant fare if you stick to these.

I have to agree with others that the salads aren't great/ need updating and the foil grilled dinners are not a good idea: no grill flavor, presentation is lacking and seafood is too easily overcooked, what's the point?

Very friendly atmosphere and service.

Dessert selection is limited, but I've always loved their Low Tide Pie.

Posted by: MJ at February 9, 2006 08:09 PM


Our waitress referred to the special as "scallops with blue cheese, including shrimp and artichoke hearts". This was a tinfoil heap of a few rubbery scallops and shrimp (not grilled or broiled or anything, and they were cold)with some quartered canned artichoke hearts (also cold) smothered in (cold) blue cheese dressing. It was so amateurish a 4 year old could have cooked up something better with a Betty Crocker oven and the same ingredients. Local people love this restaurant, surely it can't be for the food?

Posted by: Sheila at February 6, 2006 04:44 PM

Went there for lunch the other day and remembered that the best thing about Halibut Point is the other diners (great local flavor). Summer is the the only time to eat at Halibut because you can enjoy the patio and not notice how mediocre and overpriced the food is. EVERY time I order the fish chowder the peppers are raw...like, I pick them out and pop them into a garden salad, where they're better suited. I noticed that the steak tips on salad price is a whopping $18!!!!!! Yes, folks. That's for a few tips on top of the normal old garden salad. I wince when all my friends want to eat there...they think it's great. Clearly we have very different taste buds. Take the overpriced veggies in foil (I think it is up to $14 or $16 now). The best thing about it is the two pieces of asparagus they throw into it. Otherwise, it's just boring limp veggies with absolutely no flavor. If it were $8, I might say, "Hey, ok boring dish for me on diet." Not for the price they are demanding. Bottom line: Overpriced PUB food. I'll stick to the Blackburn Tavern. At least they don't pretend to be anyting more than a pub that serves "good" food.

Posted by: Andy at January 17, 2006 03:59 PM


We are lucky Cape Ann residents for four months. The Halibut Point Restaurant played a major role in our being here and has been a high point of our stay. We come from outside Washington, DC and didn't know places like Halibut Point Restaurant existed. Great food (especially the best clam chowder on the Cape--I've tried 13 others), great ale, and--most important--wonderful people. To enter the restaurant for the first time was like entering the bar in Cheers. Everyone was friendly, including staff and patrons. This is a jewel. We plan to stop here every time we are within 100 miles for the rest of our lives.

Posted by: Maynard Mack at November 21, 2005 09:53 AM

Always good and consistent. Nothing fried here. Best Italian Fish Soup anywhere...spicy hot, too!

Posted by: vinnie at September 13, 2005 10:55 PM

I have been eating there for years. I dont understand the unfavorable reviews halibut point has recieved in this posting. I want everyone that reads this to try the restaurant and see for themselves. Everything on the menu is great. The asparagras appetizer is cooked to perfection,the steak tips are seasoned & cooked to your taste. The clam chowder is delicous. Please try it yourself.

Posted by: PAP at August 18, 2005 04:11 PM

The Italian Fish Chowder is awesome!!!
The Beer is cold. Cherrystones were small but fresh. Great place for a burger and a beer.

Posted by: Eric at August 7, 2005 07:21 PM


I wish they would serve the salads in bigger salad bowls, and offer better dressings. The clam chowder has gone down hill and they no longer serve it with bread

Posted by: frank at July 15, 2005 09:02 PM

I sure do miss the Spicy Fish Soup. I moved from Gloucester 12 years ago and still remember and miss the Spicy Fish Soup

Posted by: Janine at July 15, 2005 01:55 PM

I have been here a few times recently and I am sorry to say that I am not impressed. The menus hardly has a selection. The portions are pretty small for the price. It's a cute, local spot and has a fun little patio and the services is always kind and prompt, but if you are looking for great food and drinks I would choose elsewhere.

Posted by: roxanne at June 25, 2005 09:27 AM

This is a great place for a casual night out or a tasty lunch. Halibut Point offers good inexpensive food and a festive atmosphere.

Posted by: Dave at April 27, 2004 10:19 PM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star