Cape Ann Dines Out!
Index


Reviews for Sugar Magnolias ~ Gloucester

112 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930
Tel: (978) 281-5310

On the web: www.sugarmags.com




Posted by Cape Ann Web at November 12, 2003 06:00 AM


Reviews!

Yes, the food here is, on the whole, great, thus the long wait on any given weekend morning, but the random closings drive me crazy. Make certain to call b/f driving, parking and paying meter.
Oh, and watch out for the Asian waitress who is frequently rude, and ungracious.

Posted by: KALIYAH at July 30, 2010 02:16 AM


Delicious food. Large portions, Best breakfast around & prices reasonable. Light fluffy pancakes the size of hubcaps. Only drawbacks are the small tables & uncomfortable chairs. Get there early or you will have to wait because they get quite busy. Looking forward to trying their lunch menu.

Posted by: PM4444 at August 16, 2009 07:32 PM

Food's great. I wish the seating was more comfortable. Best place on Main St. in my opinion, though.

Posted by: Anne at September 2, 2008 12:14 PM

once i finally figured out when this place was open i found out it is very good.

there just aren't alot of chill places like this on cape ann. the menu is interesting and you can eat healthy there as opposed to many of the other places in town.

the mediterranian steak wrap or whatever they call it is friggin excellent!! good coffee too.

Posted by: g stacka at June 29, 2008 09:01 AM


my friends dani, christine, and min, really love reading reviews, and after reading all of these reviews, have vowed to go to there every morning! can't wait to pack on the pounds! we love sugar mags!

Posted by: min at May 13, 2008 12:23 AM

BEST FOOD IN TOWN LOVE THE STAFF AND ITS ALWAYS WORTH THE WAIT, IF IT WASNT THE BEST PLACE IN TOWN THEN THERE WOULDNT BE 45 MINUTES OF A WAIT!!!

Posted by: Kristina at October 1, 2007 08:51 AM


keep your stinkin' doors CLOSED! it's always freezing in there! but, the food is amazing!!!

Posted by: minik at September 16, 2007 08:45 AM

BEST PLACE ON EARTH!

Posted by: Unknown at July 19, 2007 06:30 PM

Good Food, bad service. They make you wait or sit at the counter if you don't fill their table up...even if there are several table. No thanks! Other places as good that want your business.

Posted by: wes at April 8, 2007 11:40 AM

No place better on the north shore for breakfast. Owners Pete and Missy have established a jewell in downtown Gloucester for locals and tourist alike. Keep it up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by: samutzu at April 4, 2007 08:46 AM

Posted by: sam at April 4, 2007 08:45 AM


Good food the dozen or so times I've been there, but not worth going back for how they treat you when they are busy. Tables available, but unless you fill them, you can just stand and wait.

Posted by: bill at February 27, 2007 10:02 AM


Used ot love this place, but the last couple of times I've gone, it hasn't been the same. My husband always gets the greasy pole breakfast and there was exactly half the meat there usually is and the (lame) explanation was that they had changed the shape of some of the meats. Not true, same "shape" just half as much for the same price. If you get one of the good waitresses, service is excellent. If not, your experience won't be so pleasant. That said, there is nothing like the carrot cake pancakes.

Posted by: MJ at December 31, 2006 02:42 PM

keep your fruit outta my quesidillas!!! i appreciate the creativity... but its kinda like a sped cooking class...
the art in there at least makes me laugh
its too busy

but yet im always happy when i leave there... so what the hell

Posted by: Judson at October 13, 2006 01:10 AM


I went there this morning and tried the carrot cake pancakes. Oh. My. They were delicious! They come with a maple butter, and are just perfect for a fall morning.

Posted by: Heather at October 8, 2006 01:06 PM


We stopped a cop in Gloucester and he recommended Sugar Magnolias. Like the other reviews stated... the portions are phenomenal. The food was wonderful. My favorite cake is carrot cake so I had to try the carrot cake pancakes and they were to die for. I was previously a foodservice director and tried to duplicate but was not successful. Would you be able to send me the recipe? Thanks

Posted by: Janice at September 6, 2006 08:48 PM

Yummy! Just the right combination of basic, comfort foods and creative twists. No matter how busy it gets, the waitstaff are friendly and professional. Try the pineapple fritters!

Posted by: Wendy at August 3, 2006 11:19 AM

Things are always great here, but they absolutely must add a vegetarian and/or vegan breakfast. Something like a tofu scramble would make things that much more delicious!

Posted by: Janice at May 5, 2006 12:30 PM

Good for breakfast....except the last two times I went the butter on the toast was very stale tasting. Also, please don't charge extra for the raisin toast...Glad Lobstaland is open

Posted by: j at April 25, 2006 01:26 PM

Good for breakfast....except the last two times I went the butter on the toast was very stale tasting. Also, please don't charge extra for the raisin toast...Glad Lobstaland is open

Posted by: j at April 25, 2006 01:26 PM

This place is great for breakfast, and I'm sure it is great for lunch, too. The raisin bread French toast is the best around! And the bowl of oatmeal (which is NOT just your average oatmeal) is great too! Sometimes I wish the place was larger, however! Can get VERY crowded!

Posted by: jackie hutchings at March 7, 2006 05:03 PM

It really pains me to have to write something negative about Sugar Mag's because it seems everyone really likes it. Yes, the food is good. I like their soups and esp. the Mediterranean salad, the fish taco, etc. But, it really bothers me that the kitchen makes so many mistakes! I got a salmon goat cheese carmalized onion wrap last week and the onions were missing. The waitress said that it was due to the fact that the daily specials are created at the last minute and the kitchen can't always remember the ingredients. Hello? Maybe the restaurants I've worked in have Mensan cooks! A few months before that, I watched the stilton (or gorgonzola) salad being served to a couple having lunch and guess what, no blue cheese. When the waitress finally went back the table as the couple sat there staring at the food, she toddled off to the kitchen and brought back a very meager amount of cheese for the salad (where's the apology?) Last week I ordered take out for lunch and paid extra to have tomatoes on my grilled cheese sandwich and guess what? No tomatoes. This is a public plea to Sugar Magnolia's to please PAY ATTENTION!

Posted by: LJ at October 20, 2005 10:56 AM

Every meal here is superb. Great job Peter!!! I never hesitate to recommend you to out of town guests.

Posted by: Holly at September 10, 2005 12:28 AM

Breakfast is really good. Not your typical restaurant in Gloucester. Very original. Great menu choices.

Posted by: Carla at September 8, 2005 04:41 PM

such an amazing menu, in a cozy main street storefront, with great service and excellent coffee...sugar magnolias is my favorite breakfast place. lobster omelet, crab cake benedict, pineapple fritters...yum! well worth the drive up from the city :)

Posted by: maiia at June 4, 2005 11:11 AM

This is the place to come if you are only able to eat one meal for the day. Their portions are large and the food is on the heavy side. Very tasty though. I do wish they would have less filler in the crab cakes. They are tasty as well. The one thing I would change is to have a more attentive hostess. She'll take your name but it seems that she forgets about you if you aren't standing right in front of her (which is not always practical given the number of people waiting for a table)

Posted by: wahsgabg at April 26, 2005 04:02 PM

I feel like I'm going home every time I walk through the doors. I love the food, people and atmosphere. Great prices for the portions.

Posted by: Laurie Andria at April 16, 2005 08:37 PM


The best breakfast around. The crab cakes benedict is excellent. Always have to wait, but it's worth it!!

Posted by: vicks at October 23, 2004 06:47 PM

sugar magnolias was excelent been back several times the lobster omelet is to die for!waitress judy very attentive and smiles a lot.also try the western ave omelet,liguica onions and mushrooms,all an excelent value

Posted by: charles vogel at June 7, 2004 09:12 AM

Went there for lunch. The atmosphere is cozy, the service was great and the food was incredible. They have a special sandwich there which is bacon, honey and peanut butter. I was told it was delicous. I tried the curry chicken salad...yummy!!

Posted by: Heather at November 13, 2003 10:42 AM

great for breakfast with a fun menu...beautifully decorated..

Posted by: star squiggle at November 13, 2003 08:54 AM


Post a review! (Read Posting Guidelines.) The name field is a required field (real name or screen name). Due to an overload of spam, an email is also required to post a review. Only your name or screen name will be displayed in your entry. Cape Ann Web will not use or distribute your email in any manner - it's simply an added measure in our battle against spamming. Thanks for understanding!









Remember personal info?



Click number of stars to add to your review:

1star     2star     3star     4star     5star